Dosbox Games You're Looking Forward To

quadomatic

DingooWiki Admin
Website
www.opendingoo.com
I've never used DOSBox before, but I started to think about it, and I think there are at least a few games I'd want to try.

The first ones that come to mind are Relentless and Twinsen's Odyssey (LBA 1&2). I've never played Alone in the Dark, but I may want to try it. I'll probably play Warcraft as well.

What do you all want to play in DOSBox?

Here's what comes to mind for me, instantly: Jazz Jackrabbit, Pharaoh's Tomb*, Arctic Adventure*, and Commander Keen (Invasion of the Vorticons, and Goodbye Galaxy), along with the bizarre officially-licensed MS-DOS Mega Man titles. :p

Since x86-based machines were largely irrelevant here until the mid/late 1990s, there are a number of games I have yet to discover (I mean, Commander Keen is a recent thing, for me, even :p ), so I'll be watching this thread with interest.

*(Both Pharaoh's Tomb and Arctic Adventure are legally available as freeware here.)

I know it's a stretch, but One Must Fall: 2097 is pretty high on my list :D

EDIT: Oh, and Warcraft II, of course :)

I really want to go though the two Dark Sun games. I had the first one when I was a kid but lost one floppy disk(out of 6?, still have them somewhere) and never passed it. I recently found both of them on CD though so I want to give them a try.

As for other straight up DOS games I'm sure I can think of some, but some of the are Scumm games so I'll use ScummVM.

I have a copy of Dark Forces, that would be fun.

EDIT: Oh yeah, Warcraft II, got that.

Ultima VI
Ultima: Martian Dreams
Wing Commander
Kings Quest V
Space Quest IV

Ooh Wing Commander, there's a blast from the past :)

I play Eve online which to me is how we fantasized over 20 years ago Elite should look like in the future with a nice bit of Wing Commander thrown in.

- Sierra classics (Quest for Glory saga, Space Quest saga, Gabriel Knight...)