1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Beta Dave Gnukem

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by Magic Sam, Jan 15, 2017.

  1. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all :)

    I have "ported" (a simple compilation) David Joffe's Dave Gnukem to the Pandora !

    http://gnukem.sourceforge.net/
    https://github.com/davidjoffe/dave_gnukem

    [​IMG]

    Grab it on the repo while it's hot !

    http://repo.openpandora.org/?page=detail&app=davegnukem-magicsam

    New in build #1

    - Dave Gnukem 0.66 (latest git commit from November the 3rd 2016)
    - Compiled with @ptitSeb 's Code::Blocks
    - Added tweaks to the Makefile: new "install" target, -DDATA_DIR is set to /mnt/utmp/davegnukem-magicsam/data, etc...
    - Source code is inside the PND

    Known bugs:

    - The display is way too small (even with @notaz ' improved SDL) (fixed in build #3)
    - Don't set Jump and Fire to either (Y) or (X) (buttons used to raise / lower the sound volume)

    TODO:

    - Provide a default key configuration (fixed in build #2)
    - Compile the level editor (I couldn't get it to work so far) (available in-game, press F5)
    - Add C4A support ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
    Tags:
    ingoreis, ClockworkCoder, rSl and 2 others like this.
  2. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Use
    Code:
    export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=omapdss
    export SDL_OMAP_LAYER_SIZE=scaled
    
    and it will be fine
    or use
    Code:
    export SDL_OMAP_LAYER_SIZE=640x480
    
    if you prefer.
     
    rSl likes this.
  3. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    @ptitSeb : that's what I did, but to no avail...

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  4. atari_afternoon

    atari_afternoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    Germany
    Brilliant, thank you!!
     
    Magic Sam likes this.
  5. TeDaDeS

    TeDaDeS Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I played both Duke3D and Duke 1&2, always thought it was a big gap between those.
    However I liked Duke 1&2, so I image this will be nice to play to. Thanks for porting.
     
    Magic Sam likes this.
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    That means the drawing isn't done with SDL then. Probably X11 blit... I have checked the sources.
     
  7. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I checked the sources quickly. It does render with sdl. Try to remove the "-f" from you command line maybe (you don't need to force fullscreen with using omapdss driver, it will be fullscreen anyway), or maybe add the -640 to force 640x480 (but I haven't checked if it resize anything).
     
  8. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all :)

    @ptitSeb: I already tried all possible combinations of SDL_OMAP settings, and none of them work. The shape of the game window does change, but not the size.

    Could it be an upstream bug ?
    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Mmmm, I don't know. It looks fine, I'll test it on my Pandora tonight.
     
    rSl likes this.
  10. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
    rSl likes this.
  11. atari_afternoon

    atari_afternoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks again, Magic Sam.
    I seem to have a similar history like @TeDaDeS, I played Secret Agent and DN1 on my first DOS PC and DukeNukem on the GBC (still my favorite), and this clone is new to me, great to have on the Pandora now :)
     
  12. TeDaDeS

    TeDaDeS Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I actually never noticed there was a Duke Nukem for the GBC, it also looks nice but appears not to be for sale anymore (2nd hand I mean). I also played Secret Agent and I remember playing BioMenace a lot.
    Bringing back all kind of good memories <3
     
  13. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ok @Magic Sam , here you go:

    I have made a small change, and here is the diff from the git
    Code:
    diff --git a/src/graph.cpp b/src/graph.cpp
    index b4bc300..7057989 100644
    --- a/src/graph.cpp
    +++ b/src/graph.cpp
    @@ -162,6 +162,7 @@ bool GraphInit( bool bFullScreen, int iWidth, int iHeight )
            SDL_ShowCursor(0);
    
            //--- (1) - Front buffer
    +       iWidth = 320; iHeight = 200;
            Log( "DaveStartup(): djgOpenVisual(w,h=%d,%d).\n", iWidth, iHeight );
            if (NULL == (pVisMain = djgOpenVisual( bFullScreen?"fullscreen":NULL, iWidth, iHeight )))
            {
    
    then I launch it with
    Code:
    SDL_VIDEODRIVER=omapdss SDL_OMAP_LAYER_SIZE=640x480 ./davegnukem
    
    et voilà, fullscreen (black bar on the side, because I prefer to preserve the ratio).
     
    TrashyMG and Magic Sam like this.
  14. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all :)

    @ptitSeb : thanks a lot ! I'll give your patch a go ASAP !

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  15. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
    Farox and atari_afternoon like this.
  16. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,145
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Nice, just tried this out and it is indeed fullscreen on my 1GHz unit. A nice simple scrolling run-and-gun game with platforms rather like Duke 1 with none of the fancy stuff from Duke2 like being able to shoot up or crouch, but with better audio than the DOS game.

    I found it locked up if I hit credits after playing a game, but this is still beta software, so perhaps I just have to remember not to hit credits. I'm not particularly a fan of having music volume controls on the X and Y keys, as I kept tweaking the music level while playing accidentally. These also don't seem to be configurable.

    But it's certainly a more than promising start, and definitely worth playing.
     
    Magic Sam likes this.
  17. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all !

    @levi : thanks for the kind words :)

    I have just reached level 4, what about you guys ?

    EDIT: I have sent an email to the author, David Joffe.

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2017
    ingoreis likes this.
  18. atari_afternoon

    atari_afternoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    Germany
    Telling you the truth, I´m still in 1st level, I fail to get the green key, an exact jump is necessary and more exact shooting right before so that one stump stays ;) tried to underclock CC Pandora to 400 MHZ but it doesnt get slower ;)
    Well, I second what Levi writes about the music+/- because I have configured the bottom key for jump, which i try in all platformers, so the music gets down after one minute, but it´s no issue for me since I mostly play silent anyway ;)
    Will try on!
    PS. A very nice gesture to thank the author for a game :)
     
  19. David Joffe

    David Joffe Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all, I'm the original author, this is great to see :) Am reading the feedback keenly - any and all feedback welcome.

    Would be nice to try integrate any source / Makefile change etc. into the master repo.

    Regarding fullscreen vs the tiny window, the default behaviour on Windows etc. is a bit odd, not fullscreen, but to try make, basically, a window that is 'the largest possible window that is a multiple of 320x200' .. which probably doesn't make sense for a console .. that probably has something to do with the fullscreen issues.

    Off the top of my head, I wonder if the trickiness might be related to this issue: github.com/davidjoffe/dave_gnukem/issues/3

    Hm, hadn't noticed this before on Windows or Linux etc. but will have a quick look to see if there's any obviously duplicate-able issue here in master...not sure if general issue or port specific. (*Edit* Hm, not immediately obviously reproducible on Windows)
     
  20. xnopasaranx

    xnopasaranx Superbad!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,073
    @David Joffe thanks for a great game! I didn't know about this before the port. Used to binge play duke nukem 1 on my first 386.

    @Magic Sam and @ptitSeb thanks for porting and patching!
     
    Magic Sam likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...