Could Someone Help Me With Epsxe

Discussion in 'Offtopic Discussions' started by Stanger65, Nov 1, 2004.

  1. Stanger65

    Stanger65 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    to whoever replies,

    I am a college student and i am pretty sure that u cannot play downloaded playstation games unless u own the original copy...i do own the original copy of Final Fantasy VII but it is 5 hours away and is not very accessable to me right now because i wont be home till Christmas...so i downloaded it...if i am doing something illeagle let me know so i can correct myself...but i have downloaded it and it is in a MDF and MDS format...ePSXe doesnt recognise that format and i have tried converting it to an ISO but it doesnt seem to work...i havent used ePSXe before so i may be doing something wrong that is an easy problem to fix...could someone give me a hand?

    thanks
     
    Tags:
  2. greenmikey

    greenmikey dancin' to the moldies

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Usa, Ohio
    sounds pretty illeagle to me....haha. I have no clue.
     
  3. elektrocution

    elektrocution Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Norway
    mdf is a Alcohol 120% CD Image File
    u must mount it with the alcohol software.

    and also if u dont own the original game, that is illegal yes.
    but if u do own the original game u are allowed to make an backup, or have an backup.
     
  4. gearhead23

    gearhead23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    I would suggest reading the readme file that came with epsxe, if not google it and if you did all of this you would find out that you needed a playstion bios, the plugin forISO file
    and the file would most likely have to be a bin cue file.
     
  5. Octavious

    Octavious Programer Guru! ...in the making

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,795
    Location:
    USA
    well, technicly, its illegal
    but who cares
    yes you own the game, but you dl'd a pirated version, not make a copy off of your game disks
    but I wont tell lol
    anyways, ya, try using alchol, or dl a new version, I mean don't dl a new one.....

    ~Octavious
     
  6. aapje89

    aapje89 Still here...

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Post this sort of questions in off topic
     
  7. Stanger65

    Stanger65 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    Well thank you very much to everyone who replied...yes i do own the original copy (from before it was a greatest hit too :) ) but i have no access to it so i d/l it...i will try the alcohol 120% and see what happens...i will also make sure i have the right plugins and BIOS's

    Thanks Again!!!
     
  8. diablo2

    diablo2 Virtual Boy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    The A
    it would probably be easier to mount it using daemon tools
     
  9. elektrocution

    elektrocution Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Norway
    yeah true, the newest version has support for alcohol clone iso's.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  10. Stanger65

    Stanger65 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    I have daemon tools but i can't get it to work...i read about it in a forum before...i still can't figure this out...could someone please be a little more specific? :(
     
  11. Stanger65

    Stanger65 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    OK i have figured it out...the reason ePSXe wasnt working is because i have windows XP...if u have windows XP u need something called an ASPI layer...Windows NT, 2000 and XP do not have the layer and need it to run ePSXe apparently...what i did was install it and converted the MDF file to an ISO using MagicISO and then i used Daemon Tools to creat a fake cd-drive and played it like that...........the music is still pretty crackly and the graphics seem like they're running too fast still...any suggestions on how to correct that?...............................
    other than that it works good...thanks for your help and if anyone wants to know a link for the ASPI Layer just ask
     

Share This Page

Loading...