Considering A Caanoo

ulgurstasta

Still Fresh
Hi!

I'm considering getting a Caanoo for the emulation options, but from the reviews I could find of it (most of them 6 months old) seemed the emulators needed a bit more work. So I'm wondering how it looks now? Are most games on Nes/Snes/Genesis/GBA supported?

Another thing, I have no experience with Linux, how hard is it to get started?

-Ulgur

Ulgur said:
Hi!

I'm considering getting a Caanoo for the emulation options, but from the reviews I could find of it (most of them 6 months old) seemed the emulators needed a bit more work. So I'm wondering how it looks now? Are most games on Nes/Snes/Genesis/GBA supported?

-Ulgur
A couple of emulators may need some work, but now most of them are near-perfect. Picodrive (genesis), DRSMS (SMS/GG/SG-1000), GPSP (GBA), GPFCE and NESGP2X (NES), DrPocketsnes and SNES9X4C (SNES), for example run quite well. I have had some problems with NESGP2X and DrPocketsnes, though. NESGP2X is slow and/or glitchy with many of the games I play, like Solstice. DrPocketsnes works well for the most part, but won't run some games. There are also Amiga and C64 emulators available now, though I've only tried the Amiga emulator; it was a little slow, but I haven't had the time to mess with the settings.

It's really easy to get started; you don't really need any experience with Linux to use the Caanoo. Just copy your games/emu folders and .ini files to your game folder and copy over your roms. I had moderate experience with Linux when I started using it, and it helped a lot when trying to set up USB networking, but that's about it.

I think the Caanoo is an excellent choice for emulation. You should also look at the Vectrex, MAME, TurboGrafx-16, and GameBoy emulators and the ScummVM interpreter. There are also Atari ST, Atari 2600, Atari 5200, Colecovision, and Atari 7800, as well as emulators for quite a few old computers.

Last edited by a moderator:
Ulgur said:
Hi!

-Ulgur