Conky


eeekubuntu

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
38
Age
38
Location
Norway
Is Conky only for x86 arcitecture?
It would be nice for the XFCE pandora desktop.


[Gruso edit] This has been ported by Daniel3000. :)

Download: http://www.hermocom.com/downloads/openpandora/
 

Gerix

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
767
Age
33
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conky_(software)

Wikipedia says it has been ported to the N900. I think that's ARM (or at least not x86). It also says it "can be ported to practically any system with GCC and an X11 implementation."
 

Gerix

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
767
Age
33
It would depend on the configuration. The default config probably wouldn't work.
 

mitosis

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
70
Age
109
Location
Northern California
Website
www.flickr.com
Yeah I'm pretty sure you could change the config for Conky and make it fit on the Pandora screen, it's quite configurable.

I for one think this would be an AWESOME utility for the Pandora.
 

Nation.A.List

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
434
Location
England
eeekubuntu said:
Is Conky only for x86 arcitecture?
It would be nice for the XFCE pandora desktop.
It runs on the SmartQ's http://www.smartqmid.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=866&p=6878&hilit=conky#p6878 so should be OK on a Pandora.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Spirit

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
411
It is available for Debian Armel so it should be trivial to get it to run on the Pandora.
 

eeekubuntu

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
38
Age
38
Location
Norway
Trickyhero said:
Wouldn't it take up all of the screen?
- No.

Its easy to change fonts, size and add other scripts like weather forcasts to the .conkyrc config file.
You can also forge it into the background picture of your desktop, so it wont be a problem for icons.

Ah, i feel kind of handicaped without pandora. Just wait untuil i get one and i will start porting stuff.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tensuke

Active Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
790
Location
Savannah, GA
I use Conky on the N900--virtually the same SoC as the Pandora. By default it runs fullscreen but you should be able to modify it to however you want afaik.
 

Ratfink

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
70
Age
24
Fluxbox is too buggy for my taste, I'll take Openbox thank you very much. Although OB does seem to have a problem where a fullscreen program exiting causes the background to be reset. I'd love to see Conky running on Pandora.
 

Pleng

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,030
So... 12 posts in and I still have no idea what Conky is. :S
 

Tensuke

Active Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
790
Location
Savannah, GA
^Check the wiki link, second post.
Conky is highly configurable and is able to monitor many system variables including the status of the CPU, memory, swap space, disk storage, temperatures, processes, network interfaces, battery power, system messages, e-mail inboxes, Arch Linux updates, many popular music players (MPD, XMMS2, BMPx, Audacious), and much more. Unlike system monitors that use high-level widget toolkits to render their information, Conky is drawn directly in an X window. This allows it to consume relatively fewer system resources when configured similarly.
 

Spirit

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
411
conky_spirit.png


http://spirit.enjoys.it/pandora/.conkyrc
http://spirit.enjoys.it/pandora/conkypandorabattery.sh

You'll need to adjust paths and intervals to your liking. I tried to make a battery capacity graph that only updates every minute but failed.
Processes count seems worthless. Network stuff is outcommented. Encoding bug with the °. Lots of clutter as I copynpasted an existing conkyrc.

Keep in mind that this does affect battery life (no idea how much, should be just a bit).
 

Yannick

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
345
Age
36
Location
West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
+1 for conky

hmz, i need a 800x480 picture of a babe aligned to the left on a perfect black background
and a transparent terminal :wub:


***dreaming
shoulder buttons to switch between terminals/fullscreen apps


***weird dreaming
Mortal kombat like combos => bash commands anyone?
forward,down,forward,high punch = rm -rf /
 

Shaokahn

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
107
Location
Germany
Nice System Monitor !

But i have a question, can Conky show the current CPU Clock in "MHz" on the Pandora Display ?
That would be brilliant :)
 

Nation.A.List

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
434
Location
England
torpor said:
Nice, how did you get it to integrate into your desktop like that?
It overlays the desktop. Screen position, font size etc + a ton of variables are all user customisable.
http://conky.sourceforge.net/variables.html gives a list of the variables.
Running on a SmartQ 7 including local weather!
screenshot-3261883.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top