Release Beta Test: Upcoming (HF5) Firmware Image BETA 4

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by EvilDragon, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Another new image for you to test! :)


    It's getting pretty stable now, it seems we're nearing a final HF5 release.


    It's still not in PND-form, so flashing this puts your Pandora back to the state you got it. Be sure to backup anything you put on the internal storage if you need it.


    Here are the changes that happened from Beta 3vto Beta 4:



    Code:
    * CPU-Settings: Fixed that it sets a wrong CPU speed when pressing cancel
    * MiniMenu: Now using only 3-4% CPU when idling
    * MiniMenu: Suppress child cats now doesn't make folders in parent cat, for cat-as-folder option; render fix for 'X going up' button
    * MiniMenu: When caching icons, can pull them from pndnotifyd /tmp/iconcache as well, but not much faster :/
    * Kernel: Various fixed, especially the errors when copying from one SD Card to the other one should be fixed (thanks to urjaman and notaz).
    

    In case you haven't checked the changes of HF5 Beta 1, 2 or 3 yet, here is the link to the the Beta 1 thread, here to the Beta 2 thread and here to the Beta 3 thread.


    Download the latest version here.


    How to flash the image?


    Easy: Download the zipped image and extract the full contents onto the root of your SD Card.


    Put the SD Card into slot 1 (the left one), switch on the Pandora while holding the R-Shoulder button and select "boot from SD1:1"


    The flashing process should start. After it's finished, reboot the unit.


    The first boot will take a while (up to 10 minutes). Patiently wait and you'll be greeted with the First Boot Wizard.

    [/CODE]
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2016
    Tags:
  2. Blue Protoman

    Blue Protoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,119
    When will that PND memory leak be fixed?
     
  3. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    As soon as somebody has the time to debug it and find out why it happens.


    Any volunteers until the core devs find the time?
     
  4. lordbobjones

    lordbobjones Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Wow fast and furious updates. Downloading now. Will flash and report. Thanks!
     
  5. Korlithiel

    Korlithiel Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Downloading too, though doubt I will report as I'm not familiar enough with my Pandora or Linux to be certain most issues aren't simply a result of user error.
     
  6. NoeleyC

    NoeleyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,348
    downloading as well, but I won't get a chance to do anything more until I get back from work! Will check out any issues I've spotted then
     
  7. samedi

    samedi Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Does ths fix the issue where for some, (like me) pressing the Pandora button does nothing?
     
  8. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, that's something we cannot fix without having someone who could help us debug who has such a unit.


    It works on the units of the devs, so it's hard to find out what's wrong there...
     
  9. moxie

    moxie The voice of reason, sense and exasperation Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    South of Sweden
    If I understand things correctly, I will need to re-install the community codec pack, but I can skip the wifi beta driver thingie?
     
  10. fanoush

    fanoush Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Hi. Is there some subforum that discusses operating system development i.e. basically discussion about what happens to code located at http://git.openpandora.org, what are you plans regarding kernel (version, features), openembedded, current issues/bugs etc?


    The development section is more for application developers, not 'pandora firmware' developers. Can we make another section for firmware development?


    Or is there some mailing list for pandora OS developers or do you hang in some freenode irc channel? I guess there is a lot to improve and there is currently very few people working on kernel or whatever related to firmware. I am afraid that unless there is some discussion place this number will not grow very much.


    I am mainly interested in kernel code but I guess other people can discuss the userspace (Angstrom/openembedded). So far it feel to me that the firmware development is not very community oriented :)


    As for specific issues I'd like to get my patch to hardcode mmc slots to /dev/mmcblkX discussed/merged or ask about stuff like power management in kernel (there appears to be none currently), cpufreq, suspend, vsync in video driver etc.
     
  11. urjaman

    urjaman "I Know. We're going for a ride."

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Finland
    #openpandora ... the OS devs are there (atleast sometimes), but not much OS talk usually...


    Anyways, it seems that the kernel stuff is mostly done by notaz + random patches by people in the community. Personally I'd like to see some more people get into the kernel development stuff - I mean firstly discussion about what will be done and by who (splitting the kernel areas that people work on), so that more people could work at the same time without stepping on each others toes, etc...


    OTOH, I personally dont have much extra time to spend on this, so I would propably be totally unreliable if I had some responsibility area....
     
  12. richiz

    richiz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    Will the codec pack ever feature within the F/W
     
  13. Eridger

    Eridger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Nope. It can't be. Licenses would be required for that. That's why most linux distros you see don't come packaged with proprietary codecs.
     
  14. Caine

    Caine Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Unless the team pays a large sum of license fees, no it won't.


    <edit>Ninja'd</edit>
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2011
  15. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    for legal reasons, i don't think so


    edit: triple ninja'd! :ph34r:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2011
  16. richiz

    richiz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    There are some bizarre rules to software!


    You can't package it within the firmware but once it's installed you can install if for free.


    One step forward two steps back and all that.
     
  17. mth411

    mth411 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    510
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
  18. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    More accurately, it's more that it can't be included for legal reasons, as previously noted, but after that *it's down to the user* to be sure of the legalities/risks/whatever in their region of installing those items.


    At least, that is my understanding of it. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. :p
     
  19. mth411

    mth411 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    510
    Looks like XBMC is a different issue, on the command line it complains about CP850.so not containing a symbol (its part of samba libs).
     
  20. Yannick

    Yannick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
    Everytime I flash my pandora, it thinks it's an hour later then it really is.


    Time was showing correct before the flash


    I selected Europe -> paris as my timezone after the flash


    date was correct


    it suggested 22:24 as the time, when in reality it's 21:24


    it's been doing this for every flash i did up till now (every beta of HF5)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...