Apache


Emu&Co

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
803
Age
33
Location
Germany / Bavaria
Website
dreimer.de.vu
Things like echo,... dont work.
I use that one: http://gp32linux.gp32news.com/USBFILES/initrd
I still dont have a chatboard. My brother is sooo lazy.

EDIT
After trying the initrd from the MICRO Distro, the start file works again. BUT now no USB Device is mounted autamatically on boot like before. And that was the only way to activate the LAN USB Card. Adding to my hub after booting results in an error.
 

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
Things like echo,... dont work.
I use that one: http://gp32linux.gp32news.com/USBFILES/initrd
I still dont have a chatboard. My brother is sooo lazy.

EDIT
After trying the initrd from the MICRO Distro, the start file works again. BUT now no USB Device is mounted autamatically on boot like before. And that was the only way to activate the LAN USB Card. Adding to my hub after booting results in an error.
Try to use the initrd from the MICRO distro and my zimage

in case of errors, please write it down

Good luck and thanks for your tests
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
USB support depends on the kernel, not the initrd.

What "error" do you get when you plug a device?
 

Emu&Co

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
803
Age
33
Location
Germany / Bavaria
Website
dreimer.de.vu
I get several errors:
/mnt/gpmm/linux/busybox ifconfig -a doesnt work:
"ifconfig was not compiled with interface status display support"

/mnt/gpmm/linux/busybox ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.2 doesnt work:
"SIOCSIFADDR: No such device"

I dont know why, but NOW autodetect of USB works again. I ONLY get errors when pluggin off and on again my LAN Card:
"usb.c not enough configurations"
"usb.c unable to get device 6 configuration (error=-22)"

EDIT
Perhaps you need it. NAME: Digitus Network 10/100 Mbps USB to Ethernet Network Interface Adapter. I can see a Chip Inside my LAN Adapter: "Realtek RTL8150L 45043T1 419E TAIWAN"
 

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
I think it is supported.

I have to get some time to compile a kernel again and try for myself as well, cause I have an eth card as well but had no time yet to test it.

I keep u updated as soon as I have news.
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
33
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
did thoholl work on the usb keyboard map?(or wher eit some other guy, iam not sure anymore, but i think it was thoholl)
 

Emu&Co

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
803
Age
33
Location
Germany / Bavaria
Website
dreimer.de.vu
I got my 60 Gig external HD yesterday and it works perfectly. SO I got everything I need for a server, I think... BTW is there any progress on your Kernel, cyberic? May I help you in any way? But I'm sure most people already noticed it... I have very basic skills working with a linux system.
 

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
Emu&Co posted on Dec 14 2004 at 01:35 PM said:
I got my 60 Gig external HD yesterday and it works perfectly.
What do you mean?

were you able to mount and browse the disk?

I have updated my kernel on http://cyberic.free.fr/GPlinux, there is a new zImage.

Please test it.... because as usual, I do not have any time......

I have patched the kernel to include support for your card, so tell us if ifconfig -a shows something....

Hopefully yes!

Thanks for your help

cyberic
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Emu&Co

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
803
Age
33
Location
Germany / Bavaria
Website
dreimer.de.vu
IT RESPONDS MY PING!!!!! WOW. cyberic you are an god!!!! Now I'll try to get up httpd.
cyberic: "were you able to mount and browse the disk?"
I still have problems with telnetd and putty, so I'm still not able to input sth. But the WRITE LED flashes up, when booting.
 

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
Emu&Co posted on Dec 17 2004 at 05:31 PM said:
IT RESPONDS MY PING!!!!! WOW. cyberic you are an god!!!! Now I'll try to get up httpd.
Good news, thanks for trying all this.

is the telnet 'problem' related to users/groups/permissions?

Did you succeed in launching telnetd?

it should be sth like 'busybox telnetd'



please include the errors so that I can try to help you.

I really would like to try it myself...

With our efforts, we will very soon have the potential to do great things....

You can try to mount samba or nfs shares as well. or do some ftp...

good luck and keep us informed.

EDIT: I've done it as well. I can ping my GP.
I have started httpd, and I get a 404 error when I connect to the GP.
This is normal since there is no 'index.html' file in the root's home.

For telnet, the connection established then closes just after.... I need to investigate this, it could be because the filesystem is mounted readonly.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
Emu&Co posted on Dec 17 2004 at 06:47 PM said:
Same Problems here. But I tried to use "DirAccess On" in httpds config file. But it doesn't work. Do I need a index.html here, too?
root directory is /tmp/home

You can add sth like this to your start file:

cat <<END >/tmp/home/index.html
<HTML>
whatever you like
</HTML>
END

I will provide you with an updated ramdisk in the next few days.


Thx
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
Here are updated files.

I can now ping my gp, telnet to it, and I can mount a remote nfs server, yeah!

By the way I measured the transfer speed on the network, it was about 550KBytes/s, not bad...

The telnet daemon is launched automatically.

You may have to adjust the IP address in the start file.

There is chatboard support as well if you have one.

The httpd included in busybox works... for apache, it will require some more work.


I will try to natively compile some apps, but it will be difficult because there is only 2MB free in memory (this can be increased by different means)


get it at http://cyberic.free.fr/GPlinux/TelnetEdition/

So what is the next step?
 

Emu&Co

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
803
Age
33
Location
Germany / Bavaria
Website
dreimer.de.vu
QUOTE: "So what is the next step?"
Good question. Putty's Telnet connection runs perfectly. Hrrm. How about building a grafical program for exchange of files between an HD/USB Stick and the SMC to break the 128 MEG Limit?
 

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
Emu&Co posted on Dec 21 2004 at 01:16 PM said:
QUOTE: "So what is the next step?"
Good question. Putty's Telnet connection runs perfectly. Hrrm. How about building a grafical program for exchange of files between an HD/USB Stick and the SMC to break the 128 MEG Limit?
Yes, we really need a filemanager...

If anyone got some pointers or ideas about a light filemenager...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Octavious

Programer Guru! ...in the making
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
1,795
Location
USA
Website
www.retroportables.4x2.net
my god, I only understand bits and pieces, but I got that last part
damn, I hope yall get this figured out so we can send and recieve, hell, we wouldnt need to send as long as we just copy off the HDD/USB stick right?
we copy what we want, delete it on the gp32 using slubman firware, and if we ever want it again, we just coppy from the source again right??

damn, it would be nice to use GPLinux to have the 128 meg barier broken

That would boost how great this system really is!

~Octavious
 
Top