Where Is The Kernel Source For Firmware 1.1.0 ?

yoku

Still Fresh
I believe latest FW 1.1.0 uses Linux version 2.6.24, Does GPH has released the kernel source ?

Nope. I'd more like to have the U-Boot source, which they are also obligated to release.

Orkie released some stuff GPH sent over. Don't know about later stuff. Obviously GPH need to release that too, but who knows when it'll get released. Last time it took months.

I really doubt the u-boot source is much changed in the firmware release from what I have uploaded, maybe just a different boot graphic.

How do we get them to release the kernel sources? Its *VERY* important that they do so.

As a developer, I need those sources. If I had the kernel sources, and if they were in good shape, I would:

- build and release gadget_eth. This is *essential* to continued development, in my opinion. It is just such a pain in the ass to develop/debug with the mounted filesystem and having to redirect i/o to text files, re-mount, ad infinitum. I can't believe the idiocy of someone who thinks that developers will work this way.

- build and release device drivers for other USB devices. MIDI, I'm looking at you.

Whoever has the muscle, please start to lean. I have had my WIZ for a week now and I'm getting very, very tired of having to debug through redirected i/o. Sure, I can make a serial console cable, and I will do that as soon as I can work out how to do it, but with gadget_eth things would be a lot simpler for *EVERYONE*.

Part of the source is here:

http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?/topic/47875-the-reason-there-is-no-full-firmware-update/page__view__findpost__p__727888 and

http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?/topic/47875-the-reason-there-is-no-full-firmware-update/page__view__findpost__p__727896

Last edited by a moderator:
torpor said:
- build and release gadget_eth.