What Will Be The Ui?

TomCooksey

Still Fresh
Hiya,

I'm a developer working on OpenGL ES integration in Qt/Embedded Linux. One of the main things I'm doing is getting shiny iPhone-like window transitions to work. I was just wondering what people were intending to do for the UI of the Pandora? I'm currently working with an OMAP 3430 SDP development kit, so I'm confident the driver I'm writing for Qt/Embedded will work pretty well on the Pandora, assuming it has PowerVR's SGX Null-Window-System drivers on it.

If no-one has a UI ready, I'd love you to choose Qtopia or some other framework based on Qt/Embedded. I would do my best to support any efforts along these lines too. I can tell you that you should be able to get Compiz/iPhone like window transitions at the very least!

Cheers,

Tom

PS: Sorry if this sounds like a sales pitch!

Tom Cooksey said:
If no-one has a UI ready, I'd love you to choose Qtopia or some other framework based on Qt/Embedded. I would do my best to support any efforts along these lines too. I can tell you that you should be able to get Compiz/iPhone like window transitions at the very least!
I pretty sure the default UI interface is still open. Sounds like you have something that would be very nice.

Last edited by a moderator:
Laurent said:
Well Qtopia licensing is restrictive. You can't do commercial development without paying.
Yup, that's true. If you want to use Qt without releasing the source you have to pay for a commercial licence. But it is my intention to allow Qt/Embedded to be suspended & resumed when a game starts and ends.

Assumuing games are full-screen, you want whatever windowing system & UI to get out of the game's way. That's what I'm intending to do anyway. The only thing you'd need a licence for is if you develop an "application" like an instant messenger or something using Qt, but don't want to release the source code.

Tom Cooksey said: