What have you bought recently?

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,538
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Just change the size of the Switch Cases,
My Dataplan is 10 gb and Flat whit up to 3 Sim Cards for circa 40 €, so I didn’t care much about my traffic, but seems like some members still have the old Dataplan for 10 € whit 256 mb flat..
Maybe I am the only one who brows the Internet in MC Donald’s whiteout the use of a the 1 Hour Free WLAN ..
 

Elw3

ƐʍlƎ
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
1,352
@levi excuse me for being only able to afford modem speed.
@matzesu No Mcdoof or any other free wifi anywhere near here. But Alditalk gives you 700mb now for 4€, of course if that is used within a day by just opening a few forum pages here that is not so nice.
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,212
FWIW each of your switch case pictures above seem to be 8MB in size, and there are five of them which counts for another 40MB. Now, none of us really need to adapt for cope with elw3's stupid data plans, but if it's also affecting djoga'ro then I'd bend. I personally didn't notice because I'm not still in the 1990s.
I'm living in Germany, not South Korea. Talking 'bout my landline, for years I'm on an ADSL tarif that gives me UP TO 16Mb/s. And for years I've actually got very stable 3.5, until sometime last year they upgraded th last mileto another protocol and I got 16, yeah finally. A few days later it went down to a stable 12 or 13. But there's little sense in complaining to Telekom, since I'm not there customer. I'm with congstar *cough* daughter of Telekom *cough*. And when I complain to them, they say, nothing we can do, Telekom decides what is technically possible.
I did once look around what is on offer in terms of VDSL, but found nothing with acceptable terms.
And yes, a page with 50MB ain't the end of the world for me. It just gets annoying at some iteration. Like "Ah, there's a new post. *click* ... Not this again!" ;)

How does ED do it? Iirc, when he makes a new newspost with lots of pictures, my browser only loads them fully as I click them.

EDIT: By stable I mean, there's a hard limit that doesn't move like obviously put in the settings on the provider's side.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,992
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Edit: Missed the new page of posts.

I think that's ED making use of the thumbnail functionality.
But I personally find clicking through thumbnails a bit of a faff. Since I personally have the bandwidth to not care about it even though I'm not exactly on fast internet in the scale of things, but I still have sympathy for the old days of wet string and the likes.
 

ClockworkCoder

Chaotic Neutral
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
1,392
Location
Menzoberranzan
You could do, but I personally find clicking through thumbnails a bit of a faff.
They pop up in a carousel... pretty easy to navigate in my opinion!

I don't mind either way in terms of bandwidth, although thumbnails are easier to work through if you're trying to read text below.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,992
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
That's true, when there's text involved as well, I don't mind the extra effort to click though a thumbnail there (they don't appear in a carousel for me, though that's probably because I don't run scripts here). But if photos are the entire point of the post then I'm not convinced yet, though it wouldn't take much to convince me to be fair.
 

Inqui

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Messages
183
Location
NRW
Got me some nice pice of art during a visit in London today.

This artist recycles unsusable PCBs and hardware to craft some nice butterflies, bugs, bees and dragonflies.

Most of them have a bulb or HDD head as body.

I'm very proud that I spotted his desk in at a nice market.

DSC_0781.jpg
 

Swordfish II

Very Active Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
905
What? Where can you still have slaves? I want one, too.
Lol

These mechanical octopus hands. Not very expensive either

 

Null

Junior partner in crime.
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
9,317
I recently inherited some money so I've purchased yet another figure



+ a memory foam mattress.
 

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,538
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
A Leather Wristband for my Apple Watch:
The Company is Bandwerk, they are from Munich and they sell also Apple Watch Wristbands from the Leather of some iconic Oldtimers like Porsche 911 or Mercedes Pullman
My Band isn’t such a special Edition, but a Waterproof Leather,
They say I can also Shower or Swim whit the Leatherband, so i think it was a good purchase

Ditnt had much time to Test it’s waterproof, but at least I’m now wearing it..







Whit best regards, Matthias
 

Lanboy

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
18
Picked up a 1541 Ultimate II+. Brilliant piece of hardware for the C64, allows me to mount a .d64 or .t64 image from a usb drive and present it to the C64. Lots of additional functionality that I'm still figuring out.
 

kuru

Laptop und Trachtenjanker
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
2,893
Location
the mockracy
20200214_090313.jpg
Nice piece of kit. Now I can finally open that signature pad and replace the broken USB cable. Saved 20 € on the pad because of the cable. That's two thirds of that tool kit paid for. Which is well packaged and made. No comparison to the usual China stuff.

20200214_093747.jpg
Some nice smoked paprika

20200214_093719.jpg
Another Kaweco pen. I already own a clear demonstrator with an EF nib. But that one is a bit scratchy on lower grade papers. This one is F and so far I respect it a lot. Heh.
Those are made of plastic and are nothing special craft-wise. But the form factor is great. I always carry one of those in a pants pocket.


Also bought a tub of cheese powder. Cheddar and blue cheese. Interesting stuff. Edit: Made cheese sauce with it. Added milk and butter, heat, done. Gotta sieve the powder in, in order to avoid clumps (clots?).
 
Last edited:

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,538
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
An Convay Ebike, and dit my First Tour when I took it home,
Im pretty impressed by this thing , it’s looks awesome in this Yellow and it drives pretty good,
The Only Problem I have is that it’s makes you drive too long: my Tour was 2:40 H for 40 km I’m a bit tired now but I had fun ^^




Whit best regards, Matthias
 

ClockworkCoder

Chaotic Neutral
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
1,392
Location
Menzoberranzan
Few things I have bought are now delayed with no known release (due to Covid19):

Replicade Replitronics (1/6th scale change machine replica)
Replicade Dragon's Lair

32Blit

EOMA68 (this was already delayed, on a similar timeline to Pyra, but with production being co-ordinated within China, seems like this could be a tough call now, although I have faith in the creator...)

What I did manage to receive, and am loving (especially for the PlayStation emulation) is the Odroid Go Advance.

Also ordered an SD card adapter for the Plus-1 of my Acorn Electron, hopefully receiving it next week sometime...
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,992
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Nice that seems to be by this guy, although you seem to have an older 48k version, I dunno really. But putting the PAGE at &E00 basically you can run all BBC micro games except for the initial mode 7 menu screens that a lot of them used. And more slowly of course, because the electron has slower RAM (not sure about this additional RAM to be fair).
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,992
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Ah okay, the ElkSD64 seems to come with two pages worth of 16kB RAM either of which can be paged in place of the BASIC ROM once the system's running machine code (presumably in the real 32kB of RAM from the native electron). The ElkSD-Plus 1 is only allowed to provide one page of RAM via that plus 1 port, so it can only provide 1 16kB page of RAM to replace BASIC at a time.

Actually I'm a little confused by the value of PAGE on an 8-bit Acorn machine now. Commonly with Tape systems the page was 0xE00 as I recall (or &E00 in Acorn speak), or 0x1900 with a DFS installed. But according to my maths a 64kB address map should end at 0xFFFF which seems right, therefore 16kB at the front of that space should end at 0x3FFF. The Acorn systems seem to be not presenting a straightforward linear address space as I had supposed.
 
Top