Well I Just Got My Gp32

Discussion in 'I need help...' started by Yakumo2897, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. Yakumo2897

    Yakumo2897 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Cali
    Hey guys I just got a gp32 flu unit. ^_^ i must admit that the genesis emulator is awsome. although
    nester crashes my gp32 if i exit it?
    is that because of my firmware?

    What is the best firmware to have? and can i have my gp32 boot into wind ups?
    Whats up with the snes emulation i thought it would be like genesis?
    thank you guys for all your help.
     
    Tags:
  2. cozmic

    cozmic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Holland
    Congratulations and welcome to the club.

    Maybe your snes emu chrashes because it is clocked at a high cpu frequenty? (150+mhz)
     
  3. angrypants

    angrypants GP OG

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    641
    the genesis emulation on the gp32 is amazing. Snes is alright and playable in some games but for the most part it is pretty slow and nowhere near the quality of dr.md. As far as nes emulation goes you should try out little john it's a pretty good nes emu. I pretty much play nothing elese on the gp32 other than dr.md and little john. As for firmware win ups looks nice and is fun to play with but after using it for about a week you will get bored with it. wind ups simply is not as functional for daily use as the euro firmware which is nothing special but will allow you to quickly and easily launch programs.
     
  4. mat_basset

    mat_basset Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Somerset
    welcome aboard :)

    have fun with your new gp32 :)
     
  5. Alex.

    Alex. Retired

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,617
    Enjoy your system, it has a lot to offer. If I were you I'd start out with some GPDoom, DrMD, DrSMS, fGB32, LittleJohn, GPSpout, GPFrodo, CaSTaway/GP, The Minigame Project, GPWar 2, and all the rest great releases which I didn't mention. www.gp32x.de is your friend.

    - Alex
     
  6. trooper

    trooper Trooper`s watching you !!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,503
    Location:
    The DarkSide (London)
    Add GPEngine, QuakeGP and SMS32 to that list too.

    Great firmwares to use are Mr Spiv`s Multi-firmware 2 (with pacrom)

    or

    [​IMG]

    Slubmans firmware.

    Trooper
     
  7. deadlychicken22

    deadlychicken22 Man is a reasoning rather than a reasonable animal

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    MN, USA
    For firmware, I would recommend slubmans. Simple interface, quick loading, some nice features.
     
  8. aapje89

    aapje89 Still here...

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No no no, for firmware use gpbios! :D

    gpbios allows you to load a firmware directly from your sd card or even a program.
    I use gpbios in combination with slubman's firmware :).

    see this link for more info:

    http://www.gpbios.tk
     
  9. smerko

    smerko Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    19

    hi, i have also just purchased a gp32 flu! so you are saying install the gpbios as the main bios and have whatever bios you then choose for each of your memory cards (depending what you have on each of them i supose)?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  10. Alex.

    Alex. Retired

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,617
    Wow, GPBioS looks very fun and painless. I may just flash my Blu+, imagine, being able to boot directly to DrMD or GPDoom :D

    - Alex
     
  11. aapje89

    aapje89 Still here...

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    yeah, I had (sold my gp32 2 weeks ago) slubmans fw as default on my smc's and for start and select I used snes and gpcinema.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  12. lizard808uk

    lizard808uk Child of the 80s

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,323
    Location:
    Wellington, NZ
    I use Aquafish's firmware with Slubman auto booting off Pacrom. The good thing with this one is it also has YAFL included - so if theres no SMC you can still play a game - "Bob the Amazing Lawnmower" sim. :D
     
  13. smerko

    smerko Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    19

    i can now definately confirm that this is the way to go B)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...