Various Questions/help Needed

coldnews

Still Fresh
Hi everyone,

brand new user here. Just bought my GP2x from Ebay for a nice price and am still waiting on receiving it. Decided that a portable emulator for under £100 would be far too irresistable for me. So I went ahead... :D
ANYWAY, I have some questions about what else I am able to do with the 2x, so any help would be great!

I know it has a USB port, but is this port so you can connect keyboards and mice etc... to it? The reason is, that I am a musician and am currently using a usb keyboard (music keyboard, bus powered but can be powered by an ac adapter). I am interested to know if I am able to plug my keyboard into the 2x and use it as a way of running my music software. I know there are some linux applications that work, but would they work on the 2x or do they need to be ported?

Basically, I'm looking for a mini computer so I can use my favourite VST plugins when I'm performing live. This is sounding more and more complicated the more I type.

ok, basically, I want to plug this in and run something like this.
what are the chances?

By the way, don't worry about dissapointing me, I bought it mainly for emulation. DO worry about flaming me because I DID do a search on here for details of stuff and didnt find anything concrete to support what Im asking.

Oh and if you wanna welcome me to the forums, feel free. ;)

the keyboard should be possible by using the Ext port at the bottom of the unit and plugging this in, (3rd one down)

"USB POWERED HUB"

as for the software i dont know if it will work but theres always a chance (it seems pretty complicated to fit on the 2x)

ps welcome to the forums :p

This is possible. However since you're the only one who wants such a thing at the moment, you'll have to code it yourself. I'm not sure if the processor could handle it either. My AMD K6-2 computer @ 500mhz barely runs Psycle Modular Music Creation Studio (a similar app).