USB host ports not working (prev. title: Can't enable wifi)


rootshell

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
24
Location
::1
I got my Pyra today, but can't enable the wifi.
I tried right click on the network tray icon, then enable networking. But it stays disabled.
Then i checked the networking.service which shows no errors.
shows me wlan0 device in DOWN state, so i tried
ifup wlan0
but get unknown interface wlan0. Any more ideas?
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,902
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Hm, Askarus assembled these Pyras, I hope he didn't forget to check the wifi in these.

It could also be a bug in the current image, as I have not yet tested it myself.

Can you check the kernel log if there is anything about the wl driver?

Some timeouts or communication errors.

dmesg | grep wl

could spit out some messages.
 

rootshell

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
24
Location
::1
Code:
[   17.807659] wl18xx_driver wl18xx.2.auto: Direct firmware load for ti-connectivity/wl18xx-conf.bin failed with error -2
[   17.831547] wl18xx_driver wl18xx.2.auto: Falling back to sysfs fallback for: ti-connectivity/wl18xx-conf.bin
[   18.038365] wlcore: ERROR could not get configuration binary ti-connectivity/wl18xx-conf.bin: -11
[   18.059194] wlcore: WARNING falling back to default config
[   18.584145] wlcore: wl18xx HW: 183x or 180x, PG 2.2 (ROM 0x11)
[   18.597807] wlcore: WARNING Detected unconfigured mac address in nvs, derive from fuse instead.
[   18.632878] wlcore: WARNING This default nvs file can be removed from the file system
[   20.244604] wlcore: loaded
[   21.391667] wlcore: PHY firmware version: Rev 8.2.0.0.242
[   21.506932] wlcore: firmware booted (Rev 8.9.0.0.79)
[   21.524174] wlcore: down
[   21.966356] wlcore: PHY firmware version: Rev 8.2.0.0.242
[   22.105595] wlcore: firmware booted (Rev 8.9.0.0.79)
[  368.061650] wlcore: down
[  729.066440] wlcore: down
[ 1031.438250] wlcore: down
[ 1387.063273] wlcore: down
[ 1702.061442] wlcore: down
[ 2017.060824] wlcore: down
[ 2332.036391] wlcore: down
[ 2652.063558] wlcore: down
I tried copying the log to a usb stick, but even lsusb only showed the root hub. SD Card finally worked. Do i have to enable USB like on the Pandora?
In /lib/firmware/ti-connectivity i got wl18xx-fw-2.bin, *-3.bin and *-4.bin, but no *-conf.bin. Anyway, the firmware booted so it should have downloaded ok.

I tried using a usb wifi adapter, but no device found. lsusb still just shows a single 2.0 root hub.
 
Last edited:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,902
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
No, everything should be enabled, and it looks like the Wifi hardware is there.

Aaahhh... that reminds me... I think we once had a U-Boot / MLO combination that sometimes for some reason had a non-working USB!
Could be the MLO / U-Boot we had on our flasher card was that old one!

I need to check which would be better to use. You can then flash it!
 

aTc

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
246
Immediately after pressing the power button, do the leds next to the the power button light up green ?
(to make sure it's the right uboot version)
 

rootshell

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
24
Location
::1
A little update: Wifi works now, USB still only seeing the root hub.
I rebooted the system multiple times, but just now i completely shut it down and switch out the battery. On the next boot up wifi was working fine.
The LEDs beginn lighting up in blue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

rootshell

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
24
Location
::1
No, everything should be enabled, and it looks like the Wifi hardware is there.

Aaahhh... that reminds me... I think we once had a U-Boot / MLO combination that sometimes for some reason had a non-working USB!
Could be the MLO / U-Boot we had on our flasher card was that old one!

I need to check which would be better to use. You can then flash it!
Did you find the time to look up the correct version? Or did check mean the more involved kind of check?
I also discovered, that if i use an OTG adapter my devices get detected. It is only the full size host ports that dont work. All three ports are powered.

Edit: Edited the title so it matches the problem.
 

Attachments

  • dmesg.txt
    39.3 KB · Views: 19
Last edited:
Top