To F200 Or Not F200....

h3dge

Still Fresh
I am new to the handheld scene, but have been an avid computer gamer and more recently a console gamer. I am interested in the gp2x but I'm not sure which model to get. The f200 looks interesting, but i do have concerns...can anyone give their perspective on these issues:

1. I understand that the f200 is different enough from the f100 that it warrants coding changes in many applications. What is the general opinion of development community on this matter? Are these changes likely to happen, or is there not enough of a population of f200 users to warrant the work? Are there apps/games that are popular but no longer under active development that would leave them unsupported on the f200?

2. How big an issue is the missing stick-click?

3. Will there ever be a large f200 population of users or do you see the majority of users skipping the f200 and going to Pandora?

4. I have heard some grumblings of hardware failure on the f200s. Is there an issue or not?

5. What is the likelyhood that the model I recieve can be overclocked enough for emulation? I have heard 250 Mgz is ideal, but I have read that some people cannot overclock to this speed.

6. In light of these questions, does it make more sense to buy an f100 or f200?

Any other insights are welcome. Thanks for your help...

-h3dge

h3dge said:
1. I understand that the f200 is different enough from the f100 that it warrants coding changes in many applications. What is the general opinion of development community on this matter? Are these changes likely to happen, or is there not enough of a population of f200 users to warrant the work? Are there apps/games that are popular but no longer under active development that would leave them unsupported on the f200?
It seems to be a sound sample number issue. The F-100 seems to support any arbitrary number of samples whereas the F-200 is fuzzy and likes even multiples of 11025.
h3dge said: