Tiling window manager?

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,835
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
That's quite advanced usage by my reckoning - did you find all that stuff in opkg form, or are you doing that on top of a pandian base or something? Personally, I've always stuck with the default Angstrom/SuperZaxxon OS because everything works, and things do get patched if you ask for them.
 

ladyerrant

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Messages
5
Age
38
Website
voidptr.org
Its running on SZ. I found a virtualbox image for a cross compilation environment...somewhere on here. Apologies, I can't find the post. I'll report back with that when I find it. Anyway, I compiled it up in that and copied it over to the pandora. I modified .xinitrc to start DWM, I also had to edit /etc/pandora/conf/eventmap and comment out the line for the pandora button. Without that pressing the pandora button would close whatever application had focus, and I set DWM up to use the pandora button as the meta key.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,514
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Its running on SZ. I found a virtualbox image for a cross compilation environment...somewhere on here. Apologies, I can't find the post. I'll report back with that when I find it. Anyway, I compiled it up in that and copied it over to the pandora. I modified .xinitrc to start DWM, I also had to edit /etc/pandora/conf/eventmap and comment out the line for the pandora button. Without that pressing the pandora button would close whatever application had focus, and I set DWM up to use the pandora button as the meta key.
I guess the VirtualBox image is @sebt3's
 

___

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,373
@ladyerrant I thought it wasn't possible to use the pandora key as mod. I need to try this! whats the keycode?

I would love a write up of your DWM setup. Nice to see so many tiling wm enthusiasts here!
 

___

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,373
@ladyerrant thanks! according to the dwm docs, mod4mask is the windows key. That should be easy enough to map in i3.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,835
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
On my i3 server, I have configured the windows key as my i3 modifier (e.g. it's win+enter for a new terminal, or win+F to go fullscreen). IIRC the default is left alt, but it's a defined option to use the windows key on keyboards that have them instead, I seem to remember.
 

___

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,373
yes I always use the win key as mod for i3 on my computers. I just didn't know, that the pandora key was mapped like that.
 
Top