The Title Says There's No Such Thing As A Stupid Question

joeeoh

Ello I have a first edition GP2X (don't mean to brag) but since I've had it I never updated the firmware (stupid me) so that means I still have the very first firmware the GP2X ever came out with. So I was wondering (since I've never done anything like this before) do I have to start from the very first firmware update and work myself up or can I just download the latest one and all will be good?

Please help!,

Lame-o :D

You can just upgrade ... each FW upgrade has all the stuff needed ... from any verison to any version ... you can even downgrade if you like (Up yours SONY!) :)

TelcoLou posted on May 22 2006 at 08:49 PM said:
You can just upgrade ... each FW upgrade has all the stuff needed ... from any verison to any version ... you can even downgrade if you like (Up yours SONY!) :)
So I'm just checking, but I can go ahead and install 2.0.0 on my GP2X?

P.S. I also read that GP2X has WiFi with 2.0.0 it is a lie correct? cuz thats like impossible

Last edited by a moderator:
yes you can just install 2.0.
Since 2.0 usb host is officialy supported, so you can use a usb wifi stick if you have the right drivers.

Vimacs posted on May 22 2006 at 09:07 PM said:
yes you can just install 2.0.
Since 2.0 usb host is officialy supported, so you can use a usb wifi stick if you have the right drivers.
Wow thats amazing! So I dont need any software in order to use the wi fi stick... wait what CAN u do with the Wifi stick? Internet browse? play online games? what?

The simplest answer would be to network wirelessly. What you can do within that scope has not been really defined.

yaustar posted on May 23 2006 at 02:33 AM said:
The simplest answer would be to network wirelessly. What you can do within that scope has not been really defined.