GP2X The Penguin Must Die!

gp2brew

Website
gp2brew.com
Ok, so from what Reesy said in another thread about his emulator projects, the built-in sexy lookin' Linux within the GP2X is actually not so hot when it comes to really hitting the hardware.

Seriously, how many people carrying over from the GP32 really care whether or not the GP2X has some fancy GUI based on Linux or not. Fancy GUIs don't need Linux, but then there are some apps that are made for the o/s that could be handy at some point. Like when there's a keyboard for the GP2X, and some clever linux geeks have ported some apps that will actually work on the thing.

I've no experience with embedded Linux systems and what it is possible to run on them, but it seems like quite possibly with the overhead of the o/s itself, a lot of stuff could be off limits. I dunno, maybe it would be possible to hack some ARM code into an app to make it run faster, I'm just rambling now. I mean, it'd be cool to see maybe GIMP running on the TV at 740x480 or something, how practical that would be is another matter.

I hope that in the case of the GP2X GPH or another company will come up with some gadgets to add-on, k/b and a mouse maybe would be nice, until that time the embedded Linux is going to be a bit of a novelty and I reckon many of us wouldn't be phased in the least if it wasn't in there.

Which brings me to the wacky topic of this post, how are the assasination plans coming along to knock off that damn penguin?

I'm sure I read some mention of devs that receieved prototypes had made some effort at seeing what could be done, and don't flame me if there's 50 threads about this already, some fresh discussion is needed judging by Reesy's comments in the emulator thread.