Suggestion on Input.

Rouji4256

Still Fresh
This thread is about the possibilities of other inputs.

I am not sure if there are similar threads but all I see right now are about full the layout of the Physical Keyboard.

Firstly, I am a Singaporean student who is starting my first year on Computer Engineer who recently came across the Pyra so I may not understand a lot of this marketing and hardware development challenges.

I heard of the OpenPandora from Gamester81 and has since been interested in the project but due to the events which took place in America, I lost interest and faith in the project after a while.

Nevertheless, I'm very excited and happy when I found out that the project is still alive and is getting a successor.

Yet, after considering the addition of the DragonBox in my daily life. I feel that it is missing its appeal as an everyday computing device for everybody.

The main reason why its missing that appeal in my opinion is strongly because of it's limited capabilities due to the Physical Keyboard.

Yes, you heard me right. The Physical Keyboard.

The keyboard makes it unappealing aesthetically and less user friendly as a portable device, the fact that candybar touch capacitive mobile phones are dominating the industry, and even in the high end market like Vertu proves something. 

I feel that EvilDragon should look into other ideas such as a secondary screen on the bottom that acts as a touch keyboard so we can have more proper DS emulation as well as other functions.

By adding a secondary display, we will have:

- more reading space in vertical scale like the 3DS browser,

- more freedom for application developers (more space to work with, the reason why iPhone is a full touch capacitive device),

- more multi tasking functionality when keyboard isn't used,

- optional touch pad mode for those used to laptop,

- active digitizer writing pad.