GP2X Scratchy Sound (sdl And /dev/mixer)

Micket

Website
www.micket.com
Hi i recently added support for GameCube music which uses the in_cube plugin for xmms.
But im getting horrible sound quality. Scratchy sound, high frequent ticks, just a noise that almost drowns the music in alot of songs.

I snagged off the stream of shorts that the plugins are asked to fill by oldplay (OldPlay simply provides a buffer and a length and lets the plugins fill it up) to a file and rendered a wave from it in matlab and it sounds perfect.
I've also compared the values in the stream to that of other plugins and can't see anything out of the ordinary. Roughly the same amplitude, both negative and positive values.. well. not much else to see in a short*

So i tried forcing down the sample rate. Same thing just slower.

I am no expert on how OldPlay handles the stream after that. What i'd like to do is check to see exactly what values that are beeing sent to /dev/mixer

I'm at a loss here. I see nothing wrong, and the sound is good enough that you can actually hear the melody and all.

Some relevant files are
http://www.micket.com/oldplay/src/MusicPlayer.cpp
http://www.micket.com/oldplay/src/Fifo.cpp

(not USE_DEV_MIXER is defined)

I don't think /dev/mixer accepts audio samples, it's only for volume changes (like a mixer board). Probably you mean /dev/dsp :)

You could probably alter it to send the samples to stdout, and then run the program over usb networking and capture the output on a computer. I see you've already found the alignment thread (that would have been my first guess as to what the problem might be).

Aligntment? Wouldn't that trash the samples completely? I mean it's still good enough to hear the melody quite clearly.
Either way it's an interesting thought i will recompile in_cube with warning on alignment increasing casts