Raw File Viewer On Gp2x?

joele

Still Fresh
Basically I am a Delphi programmer by trade so jumping in the deep end here buying a gp2x to start learning something different ;-).... So I have been thinking of apps to write (start with apps not games) and I am thinking of working on a RAW file viewer, there is enough opensource RAW viewers/processors around to get me started I think, without a CF slot I guess it is only going to be usefull to people with DSLRs with SD cards, such as the Pentax DS/DL and the Nikon D50. So please send $1,000,000 dollars to newscam@hotmail.com... Only joking (sorry couldn't resist), seriously though I just wanted to know how much interest there would be in something like this? and if anyone else was thinking of starting a similar project? as no real need to have competing projects...

lol, that made my day.

Well it sounds interesting but I would have no use for it. I am a jpeg guy and when I need quality I use tiffs. Really like the idea of how you can edit RAWS and everything, but I don't know if there would be much use for your program.

reallynotnick posted on Sep 19 2005 at 12:58 AM said:
lol, that made my day.

Well it sounds interesting but I would have no use for it. I am a jpeg guy and when I need quality I use tiffs. Really like the idea of how you can edit RAWS and everything, but I don't know if there would be much use for your program.

I wasn't really thinking of editing RAWs, it is just with my Pentax DSLR I take all my photos in RAW for best control, and it would be great to review the pics on the 3.5" screen before I get home...

I think the main problem is as apart from the 3 cameras mentioned most DSLR use CF, and few SD based digicams use RAW. So there may not be much interest, although I may still just write it for my self (to use and to get me started on gp2x development).

Sorry about the old joke I couldn't help myself... ;-)

Last edited by a moderator: