Piracy != theft

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Or so says the appeals court of the USA. In discussion with coworkers I also learned that the UK has a physical property clause for theft.

http://gizmodo.com/5901263

What does this mean? Probably nothing. The RIAA and MPAA extort people with threatening charges of copyright infringement, not theft. The prosecutors in this case made a mistake trying to charge Aleynikov with theft and espionage when they should have stuck with copyright infringement and contract violations. The RIAA and MPAA are not likely to make the same mistake, especially not now that it's been tested in court.

It does put me in a class action lawsuit kind of mind: the RIAA may not officially charge people with theft, but they do call people who download music and movies "thieves". Sounds like libel to me, but I'm no lawyer.

interesting, its like you need to be a bl00dy lawyer these days to know whats what.

As you say though, that mistake of terms wont be done again

Instead of theft, or copyright infringement, or piracy, I think the whole industry would benefit if we called it shenanigans.

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a car

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a handbag

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a television

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a movie

Downloading pirated shenaniganed films is shenanigans stealing,

stealing Shenanigans are against the law,

PIRACY SHENANIGANS. IT’S A CRIME!

Instead of theft, or copyright infringement, or piracy, I think the whole industry would benefit if we called it shenanigans.

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a car

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a handbag

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a television

You wouldn’t steal shenanigan a movie

Downloading pirated shenaniganed films is shenanigans stealing,

stealing Shenanigans are against the law,

PIRACY SHENANIGANS. IT’S A CRIME!