GP2X Physics Thing

schmidget

Still Fresh
First, I'm not really a programmer, and I barely know C++. But I do know java pretty well, and was able to tie in similarities. With help from tutorials on the internet, I decided I'd make a little something for my brand new GP2X. I like the idea of using physics in 2D games and decided to try and throw something together that was physics based. Starting from scratch, I grabbed the Box2D code, tried to figure out how to use it, and programmed a simple physics demo of sorts. It really isn't that cool in comparison to all of the other amazing developments for this hardware, but figuring this is the first thing I've even made in C++, I'm rather proud of it.

I decided to work on it today while I have a chance and see if I can do some things with the touch-screen and different shapes. Using actual sprites would be cool too.

screenieis5.th.jpg

You can nab it here if you want to test it for me. (I run it at 275MHz).

(If I can post attachments on the board or somewhere better than upload2, please tell me)

Caution: filesize is not proportional to coolness. I don't know what I'm doing so I don't know what is creating that gigantic 2MB gpe for something so simple. It might be all of the overhead from the Box2D code or perhaps SDL or something, but I don't really know. Also, the demo isn't all that fast, but that seems to be more from the fact that it has to generate and render all of those boxes every frame. It would explain the fact that it start out pretty fast then gets slower and slower as more boxes enter the view.

As for the uh...controls:
X-resets the simulation
Up/Down-Increase/decrease timestep (can make the simulation move a little quicker at the cost of accuracy)
Start/Home - quits

Really...That's all there is (not much for interactivity so far) :(

Tell me what you think or what I should try to include as this physics demo evolves.