Msi Wind Netbook Variant Or Pandora?

mypetfrog

Still Fresh
With ALDI today announcing their rebadged MSI Wind 10" Netbook for just £272 this thursday, I'm wondering what the comparison would be for specs of this and a Pandora?

Sure it's bigger but would this tiny netbook be powerful enough to compete with the Pandora in terms of running emulators, after installing Linux of course? I have no technical knowledge of processor speeds and graphical prowess of course, just curious?

Here's the Aldi machine...
Aldi 10" netbook

Anyone have any comparison comments?

I think when I first looked at Pandora it was going to be a great emulator machine, but now its scope is much wider, I do wonder whether this Aldi / MSI Wind machine will do all that the Pandora might and more?

mypetfrog said:
Anyone have any comparison comments?
They don't tell you the battery life, which can be as low as 3 hours on some netbooks - that'd kill a device's usefullness for me, as I'd want to use it on long journeys without having to recharge regularly

Last edited by a moderator:
not to mention that it has xp, which will soon be completely dropped by microsoft support wise to force people onto vista.

I've got a MSI wind and installed Ubuntu on it. I can play snes games thanks to zsnes or snes9x. I guess i can emulate some other old machines of the same "power" range. The game speed is good as far as you don't use some software filters improvements (some of them are too much processor consuming). In term of emulation, i think the pandora is better (and I'm sure it's better as far as 3D is concerned).

In addition to this, the pandora is made to be handheld, which is not the case of the msi wind. So, to play games everywhere, the pandora is the machine you need. But if you're planning to use your machine to surf the web, read your emails, use open office,... you're looking for a netbook like the MSI wind.

If you can't choose between the two devices, just get both of them ;)