Release Midnightcommander

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by mcobit, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
  2. Link

    Link ithic.com

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    Vermont
    Is this like PC-Tools circa 1990?
     
  3. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Well, like norton commander I'd say ;)
     
  4. stophle

    stophle Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    And people still use it!


    Thanks!
     
  5. skelso

    skelso Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Dumbarton, Scotland
    Thanks for this. I'll try it out as soon as I can.


    I've been using mc installed from Angstrom up to now as I basically can't live without it!


    I recommend anyone reading this thread to give it a try. I use it all the time to modify config files and


    for copying between SD cards and network shares. Once you get used to the menu system its actually a lot


    easier to use than it looks in a screenshot! :)
     
  6. skelso

    skelso Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Dumbarton, Scotland
    Just to let you know that I've used it tonight without any hassles.


    I'm running from an SD install using ext3 and hotfix 5.


    Just a quick question though - is it possible to use it with xterm instead of terminal?
     
  7. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    What would be the difference?


    You can use it with xterm by unpacking the pnd and changing /mnt/utmp/midnightcommander/scripts/mc.sh.


    Find the exec line and change terminal to xterm.


    Then repack.
     
  8. skelso

    skelso Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Dumbarton, Scotland
    Yeah - sorry about that. I forgot that you can alter the key bindings in terminal and change the font size... :rolleyes:


    Now I can fill the screen with tiny text until my eyesight gives in!


    I actually used your pnd to look inside itself which was the first time I've really seen how its all put together.


    Thanks again.
     
  9. bukkit

    bukkit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    For me, all F-keys work (well, F1 is caught by the Terminal, so to be precise, F2-F9 work) , with the exception of F10, it seems.


    I can only use F10 via mouse.
     
  10. _wb_

    _wb_ Microbe Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5,387
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    You can make F10 work if you change the terminal settings. I dunno about F1, but then again I don't use that one.
     
  11. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,970
    Location:
    germany
    I've once used it but somehow this Commander did not save stuff like last visited folders, or make tabs and some other stuff. I also was confused about that it runs in a terminal, I accidently opened the wrong top menus from time to time. :D


    Some improvements here and there and the program could be really useful. I've tried some different Commander style file managers on the Pandora but all of them had pretty heavy bugs or flaws, last one was hte Beesoft Commander that actualy does not even work correctly (streak port :rolleyes: )
     

Share This Page

Loading...