Just Ordered It

dvp1964

Still Fresh
I just ordered the GP2X Caanoo MAME/Console Emulator from Thinkgeek and it should be here in a few days. Merry Christmas me!

I've never had any experience with these or any other handheld gaming device so I'm here looking for a getting started guide - I'm sure there must be an excellent guide out there and if you point me to it, I'll start there.

I am a computer tech for a living; know my way around Windows very well and have been running Linux since 1994 - I just have no experience with these but Im looking forward to it!

I imagine I will need some SDHC cards; maybe load one up with a mame emulator and those roms, another with my old commodore 64 roms and try to find an emulator for that, another for Atari, etc. (or do you just load everything onto the Caanoo and run it from there?)

Anyway, if there is a beginner's guide which assumes nothing on behalf of the user, to getting the Caanoo up and running with an emulator and games, I'll start there. I imagine if you can get one emulator and its roms running, you can get any of the others going too.

I dont know what I dont know to ask.... :)

~david

You may want to start here, its a starter pack with most of the emus, apps and stuff, just extract it to an sd card and add some roms and away you go :)

http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/caanoo.cgi?0,0,0,0,23,694

I don't know, if there is a 'all-in-one, explaining everything' guide, but you can use the starter pack LTStone posted, or a similar one by yoshi.
http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/caanoo.cgi?0,0,0,0,5,696
As you are no total computer noob, you will not have any difficulties to get the programs running.