Joypad Setup For All Emulators Question?

coevin

Hi everyone.

This is just a question to see if its possible and would anyone be skilled enough to do it.

Basically i was wondering whether a program could be used and attached to every emulator so they are able to run a joypad. Now i dont know about programming stuff i was just wondering as im sure there is something similiar on the pc emulation scene (maybe im wrong). Basically there are some emulators out there which alot of people would give anything to be able to use pads for such as amiga and c64.

Also if this was acheivable it could also be used on the pandora.

Now forgive me if im just stupid as like i said i have no programming knowledge i was just wondering if its possible and would anyone give it a go.

Hi

Do you mean a joypad hooked up via USB, or through a cradle, or what? It's a little unclear there, but I am sure that it would be very easy to have a routine built into gmenu or whatever to load drivers for a compatible USB joypad whenever any application classed as an emulator is loaded from within gmenu. I don't see why not.

Yeah joypads through the cradle.

But obviously not all emulators except this so i was wondering was there a program which could be added so all emulators would be able to use them.

yeah thats the one i was thinking off. Now i dont have any experiance but how easy would a programmer find this? It needs to be done would be awesome.

This would be handy. Not all emulators currently support USB pads and many of those that do won't allow you to map the buttons the way you want (Picodrive does and it remains my fave emulator as a result).

A 'catch all' program that allowed you to map buttons for all emulators would be great, but the emulators themselves would have to feature some kind of USB support, I'm guessing? Or could the program in question just replicate the buttons of the GP2X?

Any flash programmers out there? :D