Is the GP32 Screen in the FLU Version darker?

:ph34r: i have flu..
my screens to dark..unless i put the backlight on...
even so.....i love my gp32...
it's taking over my life...
help me!!!

I would expect it to be darker because it has a frontlight on it which is bound to absorb some of the light given out by the screen

The frontlight is partially reflective on the inside, like a one-way mirror. It's VERY partially, but if it wasn't at least a little reflective, it wouldn't really work. I think this screws with the reflection of ambient light off the LCD when playing without the frontlight turned on.

I'm not an optics expert, but this is the only reason I can think of that everybody with an FLU says "How can you possibly use a GP32 without a FLU?!?" I have a non-FLU, and it works just fine for me. The only time I really had a problem with light was when I was playing outside AFTER sunset. The screen is much easier to see than my GBA in any conditions.

no, i have a flu at it works just fine without it. Its just if the lighting conditions start to get dim or if your in the car in the evening or sumthin then the light is v. useful and worth the cash, in my opinion

The screens on the FLU versions are definitely darker. I went through two of them before switching to a regular unit due to all the dust problems. The regular unit is much more viewable than an FLU with the light off.