I Need Help With Dosbox

renejr902

Website
Visit site
i read all the readme. but i think you need to be able to do some coding and programming to use it. im hope im wrong. i dont understand what to do, to get it working. even when i read carefully.

i always work with ms-dos since my young age and did some Pascal coding 10 years ago but that all about. i studied 1 years in computer programming.

Can i use Dosbox for gp2x ? ( i use very often dosbox for windows xp without any problem with any games)

If yes can someone explain me with more detail.

i want to try some old ms-dos games: like Keen series, cosmic, monster bash, hocus pocus, Jill, Faceoff, alien carnage, alleycat, king quest 5 and 6...

IS IT POSSIBLE ??

Is these games can work ?

THANKS FOR HELP. its very appreciated

Briefly, yes. The latest version of DosBOX (available at archive.gp2x.de) increases a lot of game compatibility.

The tricky part for the gp2x is that DosBOX has a few different configuration files that need to be edited, one for setting memory, sound and driver requirements (dosbox.conf), another for key configuration (mapper.txt), and yet another to load everything up in the first place. It can be non-trivial getting your favourite game to work, and then not everything works. It was a lot worse before the latest DosBOX release though.

I'd recommend starting here: http://wiki.gp2x.org/wiki/DosBox, and toying around with the config for a smaller game, like the old CGA Alley Cat (which comes with the dosbox package actually). There were also a number of DosBox config files posted to the gp2x archive that could be useful in getting your config set up. Remeber those files are case sensitive.

Start with the simpler, non-mouse based games, and work up from there. Mid level 386 games, like X-COM/UFO Defense or Kings Quest 6 aren't going to work though.

renejr902 said: