How Long Do These Things Take?

ketchupgun

Website
www.theimponderables.com
To all you smarty-pants out there that create these fabulous emulators and homebrews.

How long does this stuff take? I'm really curious.

(I'm a graphic designer for print, and I know how long projects take...I've done a few websites, and I find them way too labour intensive and a real PITA...I could only imagine how long making an emulator or a game takes).

So speak up Devs, and let's hear your stories!

In my case ages :lol:, I always think that I've nearly finished and BLAM!, another idea to add ( with all the extra debugging and bugdigging ). It's enjoyable most of the time though :)

Depends on the game really.

Ruck-Man was the biggest project I've attempted to date, I lost track in the end of how many hours I spent on it. Graphics took a long while for that one as there are over 700 images that make up the game (mostly animation for the sprites), the program was also quite big with over 4000 lines of code, not including the level editor I made for it as well. To give an indication of time spent, the last 3 weeks before the deadline I was up until 3.00am most nights trying to get it finished in time. Musn't forget to add the hours Pat put into making the music as well.

So basically games can take a hell of a long time to make - good job I enjoy it and have no money for a social life as otherwise they would never get finished :).

Really depents on the project. My SuperSonicSpeed game for the GBAX contest took 5 days, in the evenings. But it's not that polished and I hardly did any testing :p
And I was lucky that I could scrape it together from other projects.

While working on FleshChamer I gave to project all my spare time in GBAX period. So I had weeks of great coding pleasure.
I spent most of time on coding and designing 8bit music.

My cat game has now 21,473 lines and about 120 individual sprites and a lot of other stuff. I have been working on it for about a year.