How does the Pyra install the OS?


azz

Newbie
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
13
Age
31
Does it install Debian like a regular personal computer through an install image from a USB,
or does it have more like a Raspberrys install approach?
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,926
Right now installing the OS image is a bit like the Raspberry Pi approach, but a little different as it's being handled by a shell script. However by release it may be further simplified by like it has on the Pandora where you just unzip a file to an SD card or USB and boot from it to upgrade.

By default there will be a working OS on the internal memory.
 

Binky

Death's Steed
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
6,937
Location
16A (TO)
By default there will be a working OS on the internal memory.

At what stage in the manufacturing process will the OS image get written?
I'm sure that the memory manufacturers will be happy to do it if you order a few million chips - but how does it work for smaller projects?
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,926
At what stage in the manufacturing process will the OS image get written?
Most likely the same step as the Pandora.

I'm sure that the memory manufacturers will be happy to do it if you order a few million chips - but how does it work for smaller projects?
I doubt they would bother with this even with bigger clients. The Pandora it's done by a Global Components employee during the testing phase, they install the OS to the NAND memory (eMMC in the Pyra's case) along with test everything out.
 

Yoyobuae

Very Active Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
839
Wasn't it possible to boot (or flash NAND at least) from SD card on Pandora even without working OS in the NAND? (ie. unbrickable feature) I think it's done by holding a different button combination during start up. I'm guessing Pyra should be similar.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,926
Wasn't it possible to boot (or flash NAND at least) from SD card on Pandora even without working OS in the NAND? (ie. unbrickable feature) I think it's done by holding a different button combination during start up. I'm guessing Pyra should be similar.
Flashing from SD card is typically how it's done... It doesn't care if the OS is working on it or not...
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
13,530
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Yes, you can also put an OS on an SD card for the Pandora. If there's the core boot stuff on the NAND you can make it boot automatically, but if the NAND is totally stuffed (not just a corrupted OS on there) then you need to hold down a button or two to make the menu pop up and let you select it on each boot. I forget the exact buttons - it's either just the R trigger, or R+start.
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,623
Yes - booting from eMMC or left SD slot is the normal for the Pyra.

Question though - if it can't find uboot on either one of those, can it still boot from USB? I.e. is USB a potential 3rd target for the uboot?
 

azz

Newbie
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
13
Age
31
There's also this

Would love to see additional options in the installer, like:
1. Disk encryption.
2. Desktop environment, a la tasksel.

Also, how easy to make your own taste of the installer?
 

slaeshjag

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
2,687
Location
~Stockholm, Sweden
That installer is just a hacked up version of the pandora one, which is probably written entierly in shellscript and zenity (like everything else on the pandora.) Hopefully, someone will replace it before anything ships.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,926
Also, how easy to make your own taste of the installer?
How good are you at shell scripting? Honestly aTc has been wanting someone to make a better First Start Wizard. Disk Encryption is likely complicated on a device that uses u-boot for boot management.
 

tarator

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
151
Age
35
Location
Vienna
Because I saw the firewall dialog in the First-Start-Wizard-Video: Does anybody know which firewall tool will be used? I suppose underlying is iptables, but is there something like ufw installed on top? Is there some "default" for debian?
 

gpsqueeek

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
122
Age
39
Disk Encryption is likely complicated on a device that uses u-boot for boot management.
Well, I know it works on the Internet Cube and it is also an ARM platform booting from a micro-SD card, so I guess it should be possible. Maybe someone who feels at ease with shell (i.e. not me, sorry) could have a look at the repository.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,926
Well, I know it works on the Internet Cube and it is also an ARM platform booting from a micro-SD card, so I guess it should be possible. Maybe someone who feels at ease with shell (i.e. not me, sorry) could have a look at the repository.
Disk encryption should just work, getting an encrypted disk to boot from u-boot is what is somewhat challenging.
 

gpsqueeek

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
122
Age
39
Disk encryption should just work, getting an encrypted disk to boot from u-boot is what is somewhat challenging.
There is a U-boot directory in the repository so I thought it used uboot too (well I thought it did before I checked but the directory is actually there so I am quite confident it does)
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,926
There is a U-boot directory in the repository so I thought it used uboot too (well I thought it did before I checked but the directory is actually there so I am quite confident it does)
It's not an issue that it can't, just not something that can easily be enabled in a First Start Wizard as all of that needs to be enabled even prior to the disk image to be written to the eMMC.
 

gpsqueeek

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
122
Age
39
It's not an issue that it can't, just not something that can easily be enabled in a First Start Wizard as all of that needs to be enabled even prior to the disk image to be written to the eMMC.
Oh I think I am starting to get your point (please tell me if I am wrong, I'd like to get this one although my skills regarding this domain are still at beginner stage, growing slowly) : the issue is because of the installer, while the InternetCube (or any RaspberryPi-like board as far as I know) boots directly on the SD, right ?
 
Top