GP32 How do I port?

NeoAP

Insane Swede!!!
Website
www.speltorget.net
Hello, I'm new to the development and with C++, but I want to learn so I gonna take a look on a code and then see if I can port it. My question is now, what do I need to port a game? And maybe some more details about porting.

Thanks! :)

EDIT: Someone please move this topic to "New developers help", sorry.

NeoAP posted on Aug 15 2003 said:
Hello, I'm new to the development and with C++, but I want to learn so I gonna take a look on a code and then see if I can port it. My question is now, what do I need to port a game? And maybe some more details about porting.

Thanks! :)

EDIT: Someone please move this topic to "New developers help", sorry.
Well, first you need a set of compiler tools. I've been using the Debian cross-toolchain, but I'm becoming more and more unhappy with it, as literally tons of header files necessary for porting common software are missing.

(as an aside, I just installed it from packages, perhaps I didn't do it correctly... is everyone else missing headers under sys/, bits/ and gnu/?)

Second, you need to see the requirements of the software you're trying to port. Keep in mind that porting is generally a lot more work than writing something from scratch, simply because the original software tends to assume a lot about the libraries and such that are available to it. This is a problem, as very few libraries have been ported to the GP32 to far.

I've actually got half a dozen ports on the back-burner right now, while I attempt to sort out my compiler issues and such. If someone who has a better cross-compiling environment (I think someone's using Gentoo with theirs, that would be nice!) could give me a hand, I'd really appreciate it.

Last edited by a moderator: