Hold Button The Wiz


klikklak

Oh neat, it's a ... field.
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
845
Location
helsinki, finland
Website
Visit site
It's not possible to have too many threads about the wiz so I made a new one :)

How does the hold button/switch work? Does it suspend state to memory and then return from that in seconds in the same spot you left it in? If so, YES!
 

Orkie

Super Duper Mega GP Mania
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
2,359
Location
UK
Website
www.gp2x.dev
At the moment I don't think it does much at all :p. Though it should be pretty easy to put the Wiz into suspend mode. We already know how to control the clock speed, it is easy to pause processes and I have some code to turn off the screen.
 

mrsnature

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
462
Probably just an extra software controlled button that has to be implemented in each app that wants to use it, knowing GPH! ;)
 
Q

quasist

Guest
Orkie said:
At the moment I don't think it does much at all :p. Though it should be pretty easy to put the Wiz into suspend mode. We already know how to control the clock speed, it is easy to pause processes and I have some code to turn off the screen.
And run "sync" also please :) (the one that really saves)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Quiest

I like turtles!
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
3,411
Age
37
Location
Dteuschland ;)
Isnt the hold button just there to prevent any button presses if you have the wiz playing mp3 from inside your pocket?
Like the hold button of any other mp3 players, or even the psp?
 

Larken

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
13
I also assumed that it would put it into a low power state. Otherwise, what is the point of having a calendar with alarms unless you just leave it on all the time. I hope this is how it functions. I hate having to carry a Palm and an additional device.
 

WarmFluffyUK

The Big Wad Bolf.
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
3,384
Location
UK
Website
www.retrotech.one
The hold button just locks the buttons so you can't accidentally press anything while listening to music etc.

Just for information: It's not called a hold button, it's a lock button, hence the little lock symbol on it.
 

klikklak

Oh neat, it's a ... field.
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
845
Location
helsinki, finland
Website
Visit site
Damn. At least it starts up faster than gp2x. But still, damn! I was really hoping for an always on device. Thanks for the clarification anyway. Is there any hope for having this work in any other way?
 
Top