GP2X Hello Everyone

JonHolland

Still Fresh
Hey all,

I just discovered the Gp2x as a friend has purchased one. As a programmer, I'm excited to start developing for it.

I love 2d games, and miss the era when they were king, so its encouraging to see a platform I can develop for that has a good following.

You'll be seeing more of me,

Jon

sehs33 posted on Dec 17 2006 at 12:46 PM said:
Welcome to the community Jon :)

So far, in my few hours of reading and programming, I've written up a program that displays a string on the display (quickie SDL custom font routines) and plays a mp3.

Theres a lot to learn, as I'm not all that used SDL, but I'm excited.

Now to wake my friend up to test it on his GP2x, it works fine on my pc.

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jonathan Holland posted on Dec 17 2006 at 12:53 PM said:

Well it doesn't work at all on his gp2x, despite working on my pc. I believe the issue is with SDL_Mixer crashing when it tries to initilize.

Is there a trick I should know?

EDIT: This is my code:

Code:
if (!Mix_OpenAudio(44100, AUDIO_S16SYS, 2, 4048)) 
	{

SDL_Quit();
	   clean_program_shutdown();
	   }

It doesn't even get to SDL_Quit(); it hangs on the Mix_OpenAudio function. Works fine under XP, and when I remove all the sound functions, it works fine on the gp2x.

Jonathan Holland posted on Dec 17 2006 at 07:00 PM said:
Hey all,

I just discovered the Gp2x as a friend has purchased one. As a programmer, I'm excited to start developing for it.

I love 2d games, and miss the era when they were king, so its encouraging to see a platform I can develop for that has a good following.

You'll be seeing more of me,

Jon
If you need any webspace for hosting a site for your GP2x projects, just ask.

Jonathan Holland posted on Dec 17 2006 at 10:08 PM said:
Jonathan Holland posted on Dec 17 2006 at 12:53 PM said: