HD Mode 7 on SNES

Discussion in 'Offtopic Discussions' started by ElPoco, Apr 17, 2019.

Tags:
  1. ElPoco

    ElPoco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Tags:
    ible, FBnil, jparish1977 and 2 others like this.
  2. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,181
    Wow, nice !
     
  3. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,852
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I'm not so keen on them using a higher resolution screen for the mode7 bit. In MarioKart it doesn't look terrible, but in Pilotwings it looks a little odd and it looks downright anachronistic looking in the far distance in F-Zero, as you tend to do when playing the game and noticing the join between the mode7 city and the skyline.

    So I wont be using it, but it's still an interesting experiment. I'd be more interested and likely to use it to be honest if they'd maintained the resolution but added anti-aliasing and higher resolution maths, as while that would break the pallete requirements of SNES hardware, it might look to me less jarring.

    Edit: Clarified that that last bit of the first sentence was about F-Zero.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  4. spud42

    spud42 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Brisbane,Australia.
    must admit i had to go back and look at the pics to see what you meant. i missed it the first look. i didnt find it too bad to be honest .
     
  5. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,181
     
    levi, spud42 and FBnil like this.

Share This Page

Loading...