Gp2x Wiz Battery Charging Questions

Discussion in 'I need help' started by Nutty_Pumpkin, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. Nutty_Pumpkin

    Nutty_Pumpkin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    I was wondering if the old Gp2x F-200 or F-100 AC charger would recharge the Wiz's rechargeable batteries. If not would my iphone usb charger work?
     
    Tags:
  2. Squirrel61

    Squirrel61 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If it's got rechargeable batteries, it should come with some kind of charger. Some devices however only come with a USB charging cable. For a Wiz, charging the battery over USB at 500 mA max would take hours, so I expect it to come with an AC charger.
     
  3. Nutty_Pumpkin

    Nutty_Pumpkin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    if you go to play asia it says that it only comes with usb cable no AC adapter! Unfortunately!
     
  4. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    Don't forget that USB is only 100mA until the device in question requests extra current. Some PCs will actually disconnect a device that violates this rule. I wonder if the Wiz actually does this properly, or just expects to suck as much as needed from the PC?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  5. grahf

    grahf MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    863
    Location:
    From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
    Everything should charge via USB, as it truly is the life force of the gods. A couple simple cables are much easier to tote around than bulky power bricks. As it is, I charge most of my stuff via USB already. Even the batteries for my GP2x (Sanyo Eneloop charger).

    Your right squidge. In my personal experience however, I've never come across a PC that abided by the 100mAh pre-handshake rule. I'm sure there are some out there, but I think this quietly died with usb 1.0.
     
  6. Squirrel61

    Squirrel61 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's always possible to use one of these AC to USB 5V adapters. Or a car lighter to USB 5V adapter. Since the invention of the portable MP3 player, many 5V power supplies with a USB port have become available.
     
  7. Nutty_Pumpkin

    Nutty_Pumpkin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for the answers they helped alot!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  8. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    I think one that did have a problem was an ASUS Terminator or something similar. It turned off the USB port and you had to reset the machine to get it back. The fun thing was that it wasn't that stable - if you plugged a harddrive in that tried to use well over 500mA, then the machine just reboot without warning.

    Power supply USB ports should work, but this is a GPH console.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  9. grahf

    grahf MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    863
    Location:
    From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
    Sometimes I get annoyed with the 500mAh cap. But on the other hand, it kind of has helped (ie: forced) peripheral manufactures to develop more power friendly ICs.
    Lower power usage in mobile electronics has been the trend anyways, so things are kind of meeting in the middle as far as charge time vs usage time.

    Those mini AC -> USB power plugs are omnipresent here in Japan, and most of them i've used don't bother to do any handshaking. I do have a portable USB power pack that does though, which I guess is understandable since its lithium ion based.
     
  10. Nutty_Pumpkin

    Nutty_Pumpkin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    "Power supply USB ports should work, but this is a GPH console."

    Hahaha i think i just might buy the offical AC adapter! Seeing it is a GPH console.
     
  11. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    I can just imagine them coming up with something absurd such as needing a different cable to charge than to connect it to a pc, because the usb cable needs to be centre negative ;)
     
  12. WarmFluffyUK

    WarmFluffyUK The Big Wad Bolf.

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    UK
    As far as I know the Wiz will be supplied with the correct USB cable for data TX and Charging. The official blurb says: Charging: AC Power / USB via Computer.
     
  13. Squirrel61

    Squirrel61 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    The Netherlands
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  14. Orkie

    Orkie Super Duper Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    UK
    You can indeed connect and disconnect the Wiz as you please without it rebooting.
     
  15. Nutty_Pumpkin

    Nutty_Pumpkin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Some 1 disagrees with u!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  16. WarmFluffyUK

    WarmFluffyUK The Big Wad Bolf.

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    UK
    You can even use a Samsung or LG phone charger to charge up the ole' Wiz as they have the same connector. I know this as that's what I am using now, it cost £10 :)
     
  17. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  18. geise69

    geise69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    607
    Pardon me for being stupid after reading everything, but this can use the old gp2x AC charger as well as charging through USB?
     
  19. WarmFluffyUK

    WarmFluffyUK The Big Wad Bolf.

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    UK
    The Wiz doesn't have a DC port, the only way to charge it is via the 24 pin connector which means you have to use GPH's USB cable, a Samsung Phone charger or GPH's official charger.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  20. geise69

    geise69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    607
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...