GP2X Gp2x Development

StarBuck

Still Fresh
Hi,

I'm a game designer for a major software company, and I decided that, in order to get some of my game ideas across, a home-brew hand-held like like the GP2X would be great to use.

I'm an accomplished coder (prior to moving to design, I was a coder), and as such, I'm sure I'll be able to actually pick up development for the machine in a very short space of time. The problem is... where to begin??

I've downloaded Dev-C++ from Bloodshed, but it seems set up for Win32 rather than GP2X, and I can't find any information on how to change it, and I'm having serious difficulty finding a good resource that will talk me through the dev process for the console as a whole.

Also, once I do get started, it'd be good to have a 3D API to use - I believe the Quake Engine is available, no? If so, where can I download it (and suitable documentation) from? Unfortunately, this isn't really for fun (even though it will be), so I can't spend ages reverse engineering code to get these demos off the ground - I'd really like to hit the ground running.

Can anyone give me any advice?

Thanks in advance! :)

Great to see some fresh blood.
Check the developer page on wiki.gp2x.org it haves simple step by step instructions to set up a toolchain/compiler.
I dont think theres any open 3d engine that "there" yet, as in performant enugh to be of bigger use.
You can grab the quake sourcecode at archive.gp2x.de

Thanks for the help so far - some progress...

Okie-dokie, so I've set up the dev environment as it says in the Wiki (although I couldn't find the arm-gprof file), but when I attempt to compile a demo program, I get the following message:

C:\Col's Work\GP2X\Daft Test\Makefile.win [Build Error] [main.o] Error 1

and the gpe file isn't generated. Where am I going wrong?

Thanks again! :)

Thanks for the help so far - some progress...