F100 And F200

henderson01993

Still Fresh
I previously owned a GP2X F100 games console, and failed miserably when trying to use it. Most games i put on did not work, and it would not play any videos aswell. I loved the device itself, and how much you could change it. I was wondering, as users, is it worth buying a GP2X F200, even though i have a F100 which i cannot use. Is it more reliable, and are games etc easy to put on unlike the F100. I am a novice at this sort of thing, and only do it after school. Would it be worth getting as a gift.

I think you might be using the wrong firmware. Version 2.0 with the Notaz SDHC kernel seems to be the best for an F100. An F200 doesn't bring you much advantage, the (hardly used) touchscreen doesn't compensate for the sound issues and the dpad isn't a real improvement over the F100's joystick.

I actually like my F200 more than my F100. I'll give you the downsides to the F200 first:

Cons to the F200:
  • Very bright power LED shining in your eyes, must be covered with tape
  • Sound is too loud for easy headphone use
  • Interlacing seems to be more noticable and not very correctable
  • No real GUI improvements
  • Battery gauge feature is gone but to be honest it never really worked well on the F100 in the first place so, whatever..
  • No more USB networking, in case you want to do development.
Pros:
  • Touchscreen is fantastic for ScummVM Lucasarts games, FreeSCI Sierra games, Transport Tycoon Deluxe, and Abuse. There are more homebrew games coming out that support it, too.
  • The new "DPAD" is very nice for shoot-em-up's. It allows you to be extremely nimble when dodging bullets. It also is fairly good for most other types of games, but it is not quite as nice as a standard DPAD. It will definitely last longer than the dodgy F100 stick.
  • Native SDHC support