Emulators Not Running As Well As They Did In Previews

shillbert

Still Fresh
I’m no programmer & I’m not trolling but this has been niggling me since the Pandora’s started shipping, I’ve now plucked up the courage to ask the question.

Why do some emulators now look a lot slower than the demo’s on YouTube from months/years ago?

Why have others not been released when they look perfectly playable.

For example:

Final Burn:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbPQJUOsQBQ&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbTT77NOPSs&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=06hjDLMBaf8

By the looks of these video’s it’s running full speed, sadly not released.

Jaguar:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pe_R787gREc

Again looks very playable, no release?

MAME:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9AuLShJ-nU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHHoQZBVBPc&feature=related

This is what zodttd has to say about his video (the one above) posted October 17, 2008:

Here's Outrun running on Pandora via mame4all!
I had such fun with Franxis' mame4all project for the GP2X, that I decided to give it a port to the Pandora. Pandora is a upcoming high end gaming handheld (homepage: openpandora.org). I did this port in approximately two hours. It uses the Cyclone and DrZ80 assembly cores. It has fully working sound via OSS. Everything I have thrown at it runs fullspeed and requires throttling, and this is all at 500MHz instead of the 600MHz+ the Pandora can handle with ease! Also worth mentioning I am using a very early devkit, so I had to scale the screen as well as rotate it within software, so performance will be even better on newer devkits and the final product! Note that screeching wheels sound is normal Outrun goodness, though a tad annoying! I am using headphones for outputting the sound as well.

The little time it took to port this over from the GP2X to the Pandora and the resulting performance increase is amazing.