Dzz Games

Dzz

stmia r0!, {r2-r9}
Website
Visit site
Hi gp2xers!

I used to be an active developer, etc, in the gp2x scene (Vektar, Zooov, NetHack port). About a year ago I got burned out and quit. I was trying to do too many things -- demo competition, review website, tutorial development articles, and so on, and I got sick of it.

Recently my friend Pete reminded me how much fun it is though, with the release of his great game Blast Riot! for the GBAX compo. So I am trying to put my development environment back together again and remember all the stuff I forgot about coding for the gp2x.

My goal is to limit myself to just doing the thing I enjoy most -- writing goofy little games. By "goofy little game" I mean something that looks kind of cool and provides a couple hours of diversion for people who like it, and at least a little bit of an aesthetic experience for folks who don't care for the game itself. I'd rather do little things like that than huge projects with endless ongoing update releases.

In the last year a lot of you developers have produced some amazing stuff, great job!

A couple pre-emptive answers to questions:

1. No, I will not be doing an update to NetHack in the near future. I don't think it really needs one, and it won't be much fun to dig into it again.
2. I don't think I will be doing a sequel to Zooov 4:05. Not many people seemed to like the first one all that much and its download count is not particularly high.
3. gp2xgamer.com won't be returning, there's too much homebrew to keep track of anyway!
4. I have no plans at present to run another demo competition, but you never know.

Now, where's my compiler....

Welcome back, Dzz. I was wondering what happened to you. It is a big gain for everyone to have you back.

I personally loved Zoov, and I remember a lot of other people did as well. I look forward to all of your future releases :)