Dual Processors, Why Only Use The One?

clean_sandwich

Still Fresh
hey everyone,

from what i have been reading, most of the emulators and programs only use one processor. is that true?

i know the gp2x has 2 processors, and they are both 200 mhz, why are they both not being used at the same time? wouldn't that make everything on the gp2x faster and WAY more expandable?

it sounds to me it isnt being used to its full potential. which is a shame. i love this system to death and i hope soon someone can break that barrier and use both processors.

but i could be wrong. some may be using both and all that.

someone please clear it up for me and give me some details as to it all. like, why nobod can or which ones do use both.

i am not a programmer or anything close so please dont flame me guys.

basically, using the 2 cpus will make the overall speed slower (i'll let someone else explain why). The 2nd cpu needs to be used *properly* to be efficient but will not work in every situation. Some apps are using both cores like PicoDrive and Vektar.

Picodrive utilizes both processors. It can offload the sound processing to the second one. This allows massive underclocking without compromising performance. I can play all games very nicely with my GP2X clocked down to 140MHZ.

But it's hard to implement this. I'm not going to act like I completely understand why, but I believe it has to do with the processor having to share some components. I guess it's tough to get everything to work together without actually slowing things down. Am I on the right track with this, anyone?

well.. the reason its so hard is because of the decreased bandwidth when using the 940. so one has to carefully decide what to actually do on the second core, and furthermore, its simply not all things that can be "multithreaded"