1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Download Pyra Debian OS (WIP)

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by EvilDragon, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. Rubis Drake

    Rubis Drake Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Now that Firefox requires PulseAudio, I can see why that would be needed, not just for WebRTC voice calls, but IM applications like Skype, Discord, etc...
     
  2. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    584
    I dislike pulseaudio...
     
    rygD likes this.
  3. _jr_

    _jr_ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,167
    I dislike firefox (because of complexity of the code base, some stupid decisions as well as IMO unsuitable strategic direction). Fortunately currently it is easy enough on debian to avoid the distribution provided pulseausio or firefox package and either build your own version or use alternatives (although there are cases where the packaging choices made by debian maintainers make it (IMO) unneccessarily difficult).
     
    rygD likes this.
  4. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,197
    In relation to @EvilDragon recently showing 7 assembled prototypes and noting that he did not have a recent OS image to boot them, would it be possible to get an update on the status of the OS?
     
    Pyramancer, rygD, levi and 1 other person like this.
  5. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,911
    Pyra-specific user-space scripts need to be written.
     
  6. Shenmue

    Shenmue Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    Dobuita
    Please provide instructions on how to install pyra Debian Stretch on Pandora.
     
  7. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,015
    4th post in this thread, aTc gives some directions. While it does work it's not really optimized to work on the Pandora. Also never tested the current Stretch release on the Pandora, but it should work.
     
    Shenmue likes this.
  8. Shenmue

    Shenmue Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    Dobuita
    So if I extract the "http://next.openpandora.org/pyra-rootfs-pnd.tgz" on top of the Pyra latest Debian Stretch image, it will work?
     
  9. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,015
    @Shenmue, yeah from what I remember yes.
     
  10. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,456
    For me the touchscreen didn't work at all though, nor nubs. So it's a bit hard to use.
     
  11. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,015
    Nubs should work, but you need to manually run a command to enable them in the right mode. Also the keymap is likely wrong too, think I had to migrate the xmodmap from the Pandora.
     
  12. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,456
    Yeah I did have to do that too, with the xmodmap.
     
  13. Shenmue

    Shenmue Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    Dobuita
    @Silent-Hunter

    echo mouse > /proc/pandora/nub0/mode
    echo mbuttons > /proc/pandora/nub1/mode

    Should work

    I'll give it a try tonight.

    I was able to upgrade Pandebian all the way to Stretch though, and it works well with Zaxxon
     
  14. Shenmue

    Shenmue Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    Dobuita
    When I executed "modprobe ads7846" to activate touchscreen, I got this error:

    [​IMG]

    What does it mean and how to get touchscreen to work?
     
  15. AndiTheBest

    AndiTheBest Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Ried im Innkreis, Austria
    So, how did you get it working?

    on my computer i used these commands to copy the files on the ext2-formatted SD:
    sudo tar -xf pyra-debian-stretch-mate-rootfs.tgz -C /media/andi/df8514a1-a483-44f2-8225-969fb36b80a6/
    sudo tar -xf pyra-rootfs-pnd.tgz -C /media/andi/df8514a1-a483-44f2-8225-969fb36b80a6/
    sync

    But after initial boot to setup username/password/timezone/... i just get this on the next boot:



    [​IMG]
     
  16. KidPaddle

    KidPaddle Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Germany
    I got an error updating my pyra image:

    Err http://packages.pyra-handheld.com jessie-pyra/main armhf Packages
    404 Not Found

    Must i switch to "stretch" before?

    Thomas
     
    levi likes this.
  17. KidPaddle

    KidPaddle Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok, i have installed new rootfs and new kernel but i got some problems.

    TI OMAP5432 EVM, boot from sdcard with boot menue

    I have a ssd hardisk with two partitions
    /dev/sda1 contains older jessie pyra root fs
    /dev/sda2 contains stretch root fs (from 2017-10-08)

    Two Kernels available:
    a) 4.6.0-letux-pyra+
    b) 4.10.17-letux-zmatt-pyra

    Booting with a) into jessie pyra root (sda1) works and network, hdmi and usb is fine
    Boot menu:
    menu label Debian GNU/Linux on Harddisk 800x480, kernel 4.6.0-letux-pyra+, SDA1
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.6.0-letux-pyra+
    append root=/dev/sda1 console=ttyO2,115200n8 rw rootwait earlyprintk fixrtc omapdrm.num_crtc=2 consoleblank=0 vram=12M omapfb.vram=0:8M,1:4M omapdss.def_disp=hdmi
    fdtdir /usr/lib/linux-image-4.6.0-letux-pyra+
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.6.0-letux-pyra+


    Booting with b) works (sda1 or sda2), but no network, no hdmi output, no usb devices found
    Boot menu:
    menu label Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 4.10.17-letux-zmatt-pyra, SDA1
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.10.17-letux-zmatt-pyra
    append root=/dev/sda1 console=ttyO2,115200n8 rw rootwait earlyprintk fixrtc omapdrm.num_crtc=2 consoleblank=0 vram=12M omapfb.vram=0:8M,1:4M omapdss.def_disp=hdmi
    fdtdir /usr/lib/linux-image-4.10.17-letux-zmatt-pyra
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.10.17-letux-zmatt-pyra


    Both file system contains
    /usr/lib/linux-image-4.6.0-letux-pyra+
    /usr/lib/linux-image-4.10.17-letux-zmatt-pyra

    What have i to check?

    Thomas
     
  18. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Germany
    There is 'apulse' wrapper for alsa which gives a PA sink for programs that need it.

    Also palemoon doesn't need PA.
     
  19. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,911
    Looks like missing modules.
    Type lsusb, and check /lib/modules folder.
     
  20. Letalis Sonus

    Letalis Sonus Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    ALSA miraculously started working again with FF. It's probably still deactivated at compile time by default, though - Arch explicitly enables ALSA support for their FF packages so it 'just works' for me. I just hope that the audio framework was not part of the big overhaul that comes with version 57... (Edit: Nope, ALSA is still working with FF 57 - still one hell of an awful update, though)

    apulse is very specific and works only with a certain collection of applications, it was not developed to be an universal translation layer. When the time came that Mozilla kicked out the ALSA support entirely its Firefox compatibility was already broken again.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2017

Share This Page

Loading...