Pandora Distributing Python on the Pandora

TDT

Hello all,

First time poster, but have been reading around the forum a fair bit. I currently don't own a pandora, but am on the next batch which hopefully I'll get within a few months. I was planning on spending a bit of time learning how to create games for the Pandora while i'm waiting.

I know Python, and have looked into PyGame in the past which is why I'm posting my questions here

1) How does one actually distribute a PyGame app on the store - some people may not be comfortable opening up a terminal and typing "python foo.py" to start the game. is there a way, easily, to distribute it in such a way where a menu item or an icon is made?

2) I heard that PyGame is pretty slow on the pandora due to the C-libraries issue. I was curious if it was good enough to make simple, say side scrolling games with relatively simple graphics?

3) Overall, if I'm just learning how to do this, is PyGame better to bother with, or should I just use the C-libraries and compile it for the pandora. Testing it may be a bit difficult, though...since I don't have a Pandora yet.

I looked for tutorials and anything else specific to development on the pandora, and haven't found a whole lot. Are there good resources I can reference and read more about this?

Thanks,

-David

1) The PND system is there for your user-friendly packaging needs. I'll help you there if needed.

2) SDL (the C lib pygame wrap) is fast enough for most job you want. One of tthe game I'm working on is redrawing everything (and every layers) on each frame but still manage an honorable 18-20fps

3) it's a matter of taste. If you like snakes(python), stay with them :)

Thanks for the quick reply, that definitely pointed me to some resources I haven't seen yet. It sounds easy enough, and glad I can begin working on the app already to prepare for when the pandora gets here.

Thanks again,

-David

Two things: