Corrupt Sd Card


Belgarath

Mega GP2X Mania
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
237
Website
gbamiga.elowar.com
My 512mb SD card has recently become corrupt, the gp2x won't boot with it in and windows refuses to format it, a few card rescue programs I tried seemed to know there was some sort of card there, but it was being detected as 2gig.

This is the only card I have and it was ordered online and it could take weeks to get a replacement, has anyone got any advice to help me reformat this card?

I'm using WinXP, a multi-card reader and don't have any access to any other devices that take sd cards :(

Please help as I only managed to enjoy my gp2x for two days before this happened.
 

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
33
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
Belgarath posted on Dec 25 2005 at 06:28 PM said:
My 512mb SD card has recently become corrupt, the gp2x won't boot with it in and windows refuses to format it, a few card rescue programs I tried seemed to know there was some sort of card there, but it was being detected as 2gig.

This is the only card I have and it was ordered online and it could take weeks to get a replacement, has anyone got any advice to help me reformat this card?

I'm using WinXP, a multi-card reader and don't have any access to any other devices that take sd cards :(

Please help as I only managed to enjoy my gp2x for two days before this happened.
you could try mkdosfs:
http://www.mager.org/mkdosfs/
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Belgarath

Mega GP2X Mania
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
237
Website
gbamiga.elowar.com
Thanks but I'm not really sure how to use it, so far it's come up with errors like

Too many clusters for file system
or
Attempting to create a too large file system
 

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
33
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
what command are you using?

try: "-s 16 -F 16" (this works for formatting smc's for the gp32)
I read the gp2x also handles fat32, right?
then you could try "mkdosfs.exe -s 16 -F 32 <drive letter>"

edit: damn!, I lost the source of my smc recover program :S
 

Belgarath

Mega GP2X Mania
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
237
Website
gbamiga.elowar.com
ta but trying fat 16 comes up with

"WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 16 bit FAT! The filesystem will be
misinterpreted as having a 12 bit FAT without mount option "fat=16".
mkdosfs: Too many clusters for file system - try more sectors per cluster"

trying fat 32 comes up with

"Too few blocks for viable file system"
 

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
33
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
Belgarath posted on Dec 26 2005 at 12:54 AM said:
ta but trying fat 16 comes up with

"WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 16 bit FAT! The filesystem will be
misinterpreted as having a 12 bit FAT without mount option "fat=16".
mkdosfs: Too many clusters for file system - try more sectors per cluster"

trying fat 32 comes up with

"Too few blocks for viable file system"
from the man page:

"
-s sectors-per-cluster
Specify the number of disk sectors per cluster.
Must be a power of 2, i.e. 1, 2, 4, 8, ... 128."

so maybe try a higher numer then.... (-s 32, -s 64?)

one thing you could also try is to add -I -> mkdosfs.exe -s 16 -F 16 -I <drive letter> <amount of blocks>

also from the man page:
"block-count is the number of blocks on the
device. If omitted, mkdosfs automatically determiness the
file system size."
but I guess it is not working, so maybe you have to set it yourself.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Belgarath

Mega GP2X Mania
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
237
Website
gbamiga.elowar.com
No joy I'm afraid, for fat 16 whatever cluster size i specify i still get the same error.

Trying fat 32 and specifying blocks i get the following

Warning: block count mismatch: found -1 but assuming <whatever number i try>

mkdosfs.exe: failed whilst writing reserved sector

and the program in the other thread came up with

*** Error: The drive cannot locate a specific area or track on the disk.


Am I completely screwed?
 

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
33
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
Belgarath posted on Dec 26 2005 at 11:39 AM said:
No joy I'm afraid, for fat 16 whatever cluster size i specify i still get the same error.

Trying fat 32 and specifying blocks i get the following

Warning: block count mismatch: found -1 but assuming <whatever number i try>

mkdosfs.exe: failed whilst writing reserved sector

and the program in the other thread came up with

*** Error: The drive cannot locate a specific area or track on the disk.


Am I completely screwed?
I really have no ideas left then.... sorry :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top