GP32 Colors Colors Colors

Akuma no Houkon

Certified Guru
Website
akuma.gp32news.com
Using 8bpp is a pain. I am no artist and I have serious trouble trying to juggle an entire games worth of images into a single palette. Its not feasable, so the only option is to create a separate palette for each "graphic set" maintaining the commonly used colors (for cursors, etc..) in each set. Now, each set needs to include the colors for all sprites that can possibly exist in that area, the common system colors, the colors for extras like "faces" (which take _alot_ of colors) and lastly the colors for the actual areas graphics.

Thats _alot_ of graphics to fit into 256 color and you end up making lower quality images because you need the palette room. How do you manage that? How can you have a decent sized game with decent graphics and juggle palettes like that? Is there some magic trick to it that I havent learned?

I tried looking into the GpSetMode function to see about setting it to 16bpp (to solve all my problems) but, as always, the documents are in korean. I try to issue the commad at the begining of my initalization function, and I get my normal screen, squished and drawn 4 times like tiles. Not to mention it makes my existing palettes go awry and just...not work right.

Does anyone know how to setup 16bpp? What changes do I need to make to my images and palettes. How do I stop it from tweeking my screen? Will it have a significant impact on performace using 16bpp?

Gah too many questions not enough answers :(

There is no other way to work in 8bpp then to "juggle" all the colors the way you describe. When you want to use 16bpp you also have to link in the 16bit libs.

This is the info I collected from various posts when I started 16bit. Hope it helps. Else search the board for "16 bit graphics"

Bits taken from gp32x.de concerning the GP32 16bits mode with GCCadvance

from what i remember...
edit C:\devkitadv\gp32.mk (this is for Rico's devkitadvance!)
where its says: