Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder
Staff member
Website
pokeparadox.itch.io
WEBSITE
https://github.com/pokeparadox
YOUTUBE
pokeparadox
Basically, I finally installed Ubuntu and I have found solutions for most applications that I use in XP.
I want to find a program to use as my IDE and then I remembered that Code::Blocks has a linux compile... Now, what does this mean for my GP2X projects?

What do I need to do to have an equivalent setup to Yaustar's RC5 package?

Also in terms of Windows application developing from Linux, what are my options? Will wine run VStudio2005?
Otherwise what happens? I'm a complete linux noob apart from the little bit I know from GP2X... :)

If Wine doesn't run it, you coudl always use vmware (or others) and just run Windows inside of Unix (Linux, Freebsd, whatever.) I'm a big fan of vmware for when you just don't have an option.

jeff

(I won't answer your IDE question, because I'd just say Emacs, and then you'd commit suicide. But real men use Emacs ;)

I like vi and it may not be for everybody but I still recommend it. Eclipse is very good, all sorts of plug-ins for it. ddd is a good gui for the debugger, can get it to pop up your favorite editor and make changes, rebuild, restart all in the middle of a session, for some that's enough. Heard kdevelop is really looking good from someone the other day, it might be the most similar to something you've used before. Automake is a good toolset to get to know, used to build almost everything in linux world.

Well I actually have codeblocks installed... but I can't seem to get it to run...

I'd prefer to use it since I have been using it for GP2X development in WinXP anyway, but I'm not sure how to get it setup in the same way as to easily migrate my projects...