Release Basilisk ii - Mac Emulator

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by Wally, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,049
    Sheepnet? I might just try reinstalling 8.1, I think I messed it up.
     
  2. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    The network driver to passthrough tcp/ip. If you use the bridgemode, the emulated machine won't be visible on the network itself.
     
  3. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,049
    Oh, I don't care about networking. I just can't go through the thing to setup my name/organization/timezone/etc. It crashes the emulator.
     
  4. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,395
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I finally fixed the issue I had and it boot now.

    [​IMG]

    But, it seem a bit slower to me (at least Incredible Machine 3 is smoother with BasiliskII), the touchscreen is broken (again, not sure it's the same issue as with BasiliskII) and I can't use Notaz'SDL for now (it just Segfault, but I didn't looked much).

    preview1.png
     
  5. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    This is pretty cool. Of course it is slower as it has to emulate a beefier cpu and the older programs run in some compatibilitymode afaik.


    I just alsked as we have some legacy mac software at work that we need to emulate sooner or later if our macbook dies and with this it should be possible. Even on Pandora. The touchscreenbug if it is the same should be fixable?


    Also I would like to try and build it on the raspberry pi.


    Do you have the source somewhere?


    Thanks again for fixing this :)
     
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,395
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I'll do a diff later.

    About the touchscreen, I don't know yet. The behavour was strange, but maybe it was just the "relative" mouse that I have to inhibit. I'll probably work on it the weekend.
     
  7. romanaOne

    romanaOne Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Fort Repose, Florida
    What is this "touchscreen bug," exactly?

    I've been playing with a basiliskii binary I downloaded ages ago in these forums and I don't have any problems with how the touchscreen emulates a mouse. It did take me a while to remember that classic macs were strange in that you had to click a menu, hold the button down and then release on the selection.

    Of course, playing any mouse-intensive game on a touch screen is not my idea of fun. But there are plenty of games that just use the keyboard. The Exile games are now free (for mac and win31) but it is much easier to run win31 in DOSBox than set up any mac emulator.

    My main problem with Basiliskii is that it randomly crashes without any kind of error: one second I'm playing a game and then poof! I'm not.

    It happens in Basiliskii on my linux PC as well. It also happens using Executor, which I think has gone open source now. Anyway, I think the old classic mac os was just very flakey and crash-prone. Nevertheless, I still liked it better than win31. LOL
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,395
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    You touch the screen, and it click at the old mouse place and then move the mouse (still clicked) to where you just press the screen. It's pretty an obvious effect if you touch the screen at two place far appart.
     
  9. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
  10. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA

Share This Page

Loading...