Another "wiz Vs ........" Thread

Numi

Still Fresh
Hello,

newbie here and needing some advice from all you knowledgeable people.

I've been thinking about getting myself a GP2X (or something similar) for a while now but as I am a newbie to the whole homebrew/emulation scene, I have a wee bit of a dilema.

I leaning more towards the Wiz, from all of the reviews and information I've seen/read up on it, it all looks good to me. However, I was thinking of getting a 3rd generation ipod touch for xmas to replace my old Sony AW mp3 player and wonder if I'm better to skip the Wiz and just use the ipod for my emulation needs.

The problem for me is that the ipod emulation looks quite complicated from what I've seen and it's a lot of money to spend on something I could possibly 'brick'(?) through my own lack of knowledge.

So, I suppose my question here is, which is the better/easier of the two for a newcomer to the emulation scene?

Thanks in advance.

Emulated games on a touchscreen only device. Just think about it for a second.

Are you likely to gain the same amount of enjoyment from a touchscreen device as something that has (pretty much) all the buttons you'll need to play an emulated game properly?

The iPod Touch and iPhone may well be quite powerful, and can run emulators with ease, but the interface is NEVER going to compare with something with a DPad and buttons.

So, I suppose my question here is, which is the better/easier of the two for a newcomer to the emulation scene?
So, which do you think? ;)

Welcome to the forums BTW :)

iPod touch and iPhone = FAIL

Take my advice... Get Wiz

gp2x-wiz-brochure.jpg

It looks like it will fit in your pocket nicely ;) :p

I was obviously speaking about the standalone device and touchscreen alone.

The TouchPod is a great piece of kit in its own right and has plenty of software to keep your thumbs busy but if you want to play classic emulated games it's a fail.