An Ongoing Review from Day 1

Smasher

Still Fresh
Let me explain that I am more or less a total noob to the OP in how it works (as in I know what it is but have no experience using it - I am a heavy Windows, android and iOS user). I don't use linux either. The idea being I start learning from hands on experience! I also used to work in QA

Well when I first heard about the Open Pandora I was excited, I had seen my friends Wiz and was thinking about something similar for sometime. My brother had brought a Dingoo and it too was pretty sweet but not quite perfect.

By the time I preordered I was pretty late in. Pretty sure it was a late second batch. As I was finally in a secure job, I thought what the hell? Now or never...

A few years later my optimistic behaviour was not paying off. I lurked the forums sprodically. Could never read it and join - mainly because at work the firewall blocked the forum, though I could still read the Stalker and see the replies from the OPT. THe forum unblocked itself recently so I caught up on news. Not entirely sure what on earth is going on anymore tbh.

Finally I was given the option to "upgrade" - if it had been the rebirth model there was no way. But the 1 ghz version was at least significant enough that I again decided what the hell and with the promise of shipment before Christmas I took a leap of faith.

The order went through and queued a tense waiting period as I wondered where it was. I got a Tracking code which eventually said it had been delivered!

Well opening the box I noted the wrapped newspaper and the normal OP box. The unit itself looked good I opened it to reveal the actual OP. Now I own several other handhelds by far bigger companies so I cant exactly critique the slightly rough casing - with the plastic seams here and there from the moulding. There was nothing sharp or catching in the hand that I could see so thats fine.