Release Albert 0.14.21

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by canseco, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Albert 0.14.21

    Access everything with virtually zero effort. Run applications, open files or their paths, open bookmarks in your browser, search the web, calculate things and a lot more.

    [​IMG]

    Changelog

    0.8.10.0
    - Initial release, compiled with QT 5.7.0 from latest beta Codeblocks PND.
    - Default config for OpenPandora. Uses F12 to activate search function, but it can be switched for any key.
    - After first start, database is empty. Close the program with OpenPandora button and start it again.
    - Sources included in src folder.
    0.8.11.0
    - Latest stable release.
    - Updated sources and libs.
    0.11.1.0
    - Latest stable release. Compiled with QT 5.8.0 from latest ptitSeb beta Codeblocks PND.
    - Added xkb keyboard made by _jr_ and integrated by ptitSeb.
    - Updated sources, libs and default config (Reboot and Shutdown working properly).
    0.12.0.0
    - Latest stable release.
    - Compiled with QT 5.9.0 from latest ptitSeb beta Codeblocks PND.
    - Updated sources and libs.
    0.14.21.0
    - Latest stable release.
    - Compiled with QT 5.11 from latest ptitSeb beta Codeblocks PND.
    - Updated sources and libs.

    Link to homepage:
    https://albertlauncher.github.io/
    Link to repo:
    https://repo.openpandora.org/?page=detail&app=albert
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
    Tags:
  2. lordbobjones

    lordbobjones Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    WOW! Cannot wait to try this. Thank you!
     
  3. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Born UK Living USA
    Excellent
    thank you
     
  4. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Haha, amazing!! Thank you for sharing this!

    *edit: It's only been like 10 minutes but this is already a MUCH better way to use the Pandora. Thank you so much.


    Edit2:

    Something weird I've noticed; opening any of my emulators using albert activates Wifi for some reason?
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2016
  5. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all,

    Thanks @canseco for this nice application :)

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  6. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I think my wifi problem had to do with "PND_utils" so I uninstalled it from NAND. Wifi no longer auto toggles.

    HOWEVER I do see that when I open albert after a restart I get a message saying that Albert was not terminated gracefully and I've lost my saved data. System settings (colour choice, etc) seem to persist, however.
     
  7. xnopasaranx

    xnopasaranx Superbad!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,319
    it's not as slim as dmenu and doesn't feel as old school, but that is a good thing! very nice port. thanks a lot!
     
  8. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Strange as i have PNDutils installed and doesn't have this problem, will checkout anyway.

    That's "normal" behaviour, it would be great to have an exit button or some way to close it.
     
  9. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I think it was because I had set it to auto activate wifi for thing like PNDmanager, but it was a long time ago so I could be wrong about that. Regardless, disabling it fixed the problem.
     
  10. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Changelog

    0.8.11.0
    - Latest stable release.
    - Updated sources and libs.
     
    directive0 likes this.
  11. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    You're the best. Albert has changed the way I use the Pandy so profoundly. Thanks for your work.
     
  12. lordbobjones

    lordbobjones Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Awesome. Thanks for the update. Left my Pandora at home. Gotta wait to try...
     
  13. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Say thanks to ManuelSchneid3r, and other developers/contributors, i'm just the messenger, ;)

    The added systray icon makes it more useable, especially the exit option.
     
  14. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Changelog

    0.11.1.0
    - Latest stable release. Compiled with QT 5.8.0 from latest beta Codeblocks PND.
    - Added xkb keyboard made by _jr_ and integrated by ptitSeb.
    - Updated sources, libs and default config (Reboot and Shutdown working properly).
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  15. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I love this app! Thank you so much for porting it. It has made my Pandy a delight to use.

    One question: When I go to launch a terminal I tend to get a number of options but none seem to be the Terminal thats in the menu (different UI for one, the other seems right but none of my appearance settings are saved, the third is a root terminal). Any advice on that?
     
  16. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    By default i did select Terminal, but as you say, some settings are not saved.
    You could you try to edit Settings (right click button on the icon in the task bar)
    Change Terminal command to Custom, close the window, launch Albert with your preferred hotkey, and start to write Ter.

    The first option should launch Terminal.
    Close Albert, and the next time you start it, it should launch the correct one.
     
  17. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks I'll give that a try.
     
  18. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2017
  19. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Nice, Did anything get better? It was already so awesome
     
  20. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Spain
    Forgot to put the info about new releases changes. Updated previous post.
     
    Eight Bit and lordbobjones like this.

Share This Page

Loading...