Wolfenstein: Et Source Released


Clean3d

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
70
http://www.linuxgames.com/archives/15619

Hoping this hasn't been posted before here, but apparently the Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory source code is now (GPL?). I'm not sure whether this will run smoothly even with a port - not my area of expertise - I've got my fingers crossed for a Pandora port eventually. :)
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,491
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
wermy said:
Oh wow, looks like the source to Return to Castle Wolfenstein is up too! Quick, where's Pickle? :D
Good grief what do you think i am.....never mind lets not go there :)

RTCW was based on the quake3 engine if i remember right, so we could possibly run something.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

wermy

Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
702
Location
Arkansas, United States
Pickle said:
Good grief what do you think i am.....never mind lets not go there :)

RTCW was based on the quake3 engine if i remember right, so we could possibly run something.
Heh, well that's what you get for being a game-porting hero on these boards. ;)

Yeah I think it is the Q3 engine -- I'm excited to see what comes of this. Between this, and the guys working on Aliens Vs. Predator, I'm glad I didn't go for a one-nub unit! :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

greendots

Its finally here!
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
610
I would love RTCW on the pandora but I´m not sure it is possible. The game would hardly run on an Atom 1.6 GHz and intel gma950.
 

DaMummy

Soldier Paste
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
4,417
Age
34
Location
Ohio
we need to round up more cucumbers so they can grow up to be pickled then we'll have all the dev power we need!
we appreciate the work you put in pickle, so dont haste yourself, just you know...skip a couple nights of sleep with some energy drinks or something... :D
 

b1ueskycomp1ex

Open Sauce Fanatic & AMD Fanboy
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
721
Website
https
Pickle said:
wermy said:
Oh wow, looks like the source to Return to Castle Wolfenstein is up too! Quick, where's Pickle? :D
Good grief what do you think i am.....never mind lets not go there :)

RTCW was based on the quake3 engine if i remember right, so we could possibly run something.
='] We love you pickle.

Also, tremulous is open sauce too. ;D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

banjeed

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
213
greendots said:
I would love RTCW on the pandora but I´m not sure it is possible. The game would hardly run on an Atom 1.6 GHz and intel gma950.
No way. The great craigix himself mentioned in an interview that this thing is capable of running Doom III! Also turds are purple. Shit has the wait made me into a troll?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

lulzfish

Pandora Defense Squad
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
3,503
Website
troyanonymous.homelinux.com
greendots said:
I would love RTCW on the pandora but I´m not sure it is possible. The game would hardly run on an Atom 1.6 GHz and intel gma950.
I think I remember my brother playing Return to Castle Wolfenstein on his Pentium III gaming laptop... you know, 9 years ago, when it was a gaming laptop.
I'm sure we'll make it work, even if the graphics have to be cut down a bit.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

wermy

Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
702
Location
Arkansas, United States
lulzfish said:
greendots said:
I would love RTCW on the pandora but I´m not sure it is possible. The game would hardly run on an Atom 1.6 GHz and intel gma950.
I think I remember my brother playing Return to Castle Wolfenstein on his Pentium III gaming laptop... you know, 9 years ago, when it was a gaming laptop.
I'm sure we'll make it work, even if the graphics have to be cut down a bit.
Yeah, I remember playing it on a 450MHz Pentium II with a GeForce MX420... It may not be able to run with all the bells and whistles, but I'm sure the Pandora can handle it in SOME capacity. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hosant

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
133
greendots said:
I would love RTCW on the pandora but I´m not sure it is possible. The game would hardly run on an Atom 1.6 GHz and intel gma950.
The thing is... Atom is shit. I remember the first benchmarks and how the Celeron 900Mhz (underclocked to 600) of the first Asus EEE was beating the newer 1.6 Ghz Atom models.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

greendots

Its finally here!
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
610
hosant said:
greendots said:
I would love RTCW on the pandora but I´m not sure it is possible. The game would hardly run on an Atom 1.6 GHz and intel gma950.
The thing is... Atom is shit. I remember the first benchmarks and how the Celeron 900Mhz (underclocked to 600) of the first Asus EEE was beating the newer 1.6 Ghz Atom models.
But both are faster then what we have. After looking into ioq3, the n900 gets around 20-25 fps which is enough for single player but not enough for online multiplayer imo.

Also RTCW (single and multiplayer) don't seem to compile out of the box so some one with more experience is needed :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Blue Ion

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
177
Location
Madrid, Spain
Pity Doom 3 source code is not likely to be released at this quake con, so we would be able to silence the so famous (at least in the past) question:
Will the pandora run Doom 3?

Also RTCW wasn't one of the most impressive quake 3 (or id tech 3 as now is being called) games. For me, that would be American Mcgee Alice.
I won't certify this as I have only played the first 3 levels of the game.

Lets pray next quake con is the definite one.
 

scottm

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
211
Location
Scotland
Website
www.kaiserpc.co.uk
RTCW is probably my fav 1st person shooter (barring Glodeneye on the n64 and crysis) - great combo of Nazis and the super natural! I still play it now

This would be an awesome port :) :)
 

devhace

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
147
I think it'd be really nice to have something mildly graphically complex. Although I love N64 and stuff sometimes eye candy is nice :) this game should most definitely be ported
 

linc186

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
79
Yeah, and again, I'm very new, so please excuse if this is stupid. Why do we need ports of Dos games if we have dosbox?
edit: or is it not a dos game? i'm only aware of wolf3d and wolf3d sod, I've never heard of ET, so if its not a dos game...then well...problem solved.
 
Top